Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Help with the WIFI (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=298109)

Sgt1255 09-20-2012 05:33 PM

Help with the WIFI
 
I bought a 2012 Focus Titanium and I am trying to get my WIFI working. I sync and put the WIFI password from the settings in my IPhone and IPad. Sometimes I get the WIFI symble on the "I"(left side icon on the bottom of the sync screen) and most of the time I don't. I read somewhere that I actually need a mobil WIFI from a third part to actually work. So what do I need to do to get it working. I want to play Pandora with it and use the Internet sometimes by passengers. Any help would be highly appreciated.

Good Day
Ken

xxMichaelAnthony 09-20-2012 06:14 PM

This should help.
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2756

Sgt1255 09-22-2012 11:23 PM

So you can not set one up through Sync. If not, then why does it have WIFI with its own password in the Setting function in Sync? I thought Sync was its own hotspot for the vehicle. So I have to get a separate hotspot devise from my provider and the Sync WIFI is basically worthless then. I would like someone to explain this to me please. I place the Sync password in my IPhone 4S and IPad 3 and once in a while I will get the WIFI symbol on the Sync screen but mostly I don't. Before I pay extra for a wireless WIFI devise and add money onto my plan, I would like to know if I can do it through Sync or not.

Thanks for anyone's assistance.

Good Day
Ken

whynotthinkwhynot 09-23-2012 08:12 AM

You could try asking "FordIVTeam" in a PM. That's our on-site Ford Sync corporate rep, and she should have answers for you. Her name is Jacyln IIRC. Just go to the User CP link in the dark blue banner above, then look for "Send a New Message" over on the left hand side about halfway down under "Private Messages", start typing "FordIVTeam" in the Recipent box, and a link for FordIVTeam should pop up.

Don't expect a response until Monday during regular work hours.

FordIVTteam 09-25-2012 02:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sgt1255 (Post 4368641)
So you can not set one up through Sync. If not, then why does it have WIFI with its own password in the Setting function in Sync? I thought Sync was its own hotspot for the vehicle. So I have to get a separate hotspot devise from my provider and the Sync WIFI is basically worthless then. I would like someone to explain this to me please. I place the Sync password in my IPhone 4S and IPad 3 and once in a while I will get the WIFI symbol on the Sync screen but mostly I don't. Before I pay extra for a wireless WIFI devise and add money onto my plan, I would like to know if I can do it through Sync or not.
Thanks for anyone's assistance.
Good Day
Ken

Hey, Ken -

Hopefully you received my PM. [:)]

For anyone else interested in creating a Wi-Fi hotspot, you must tether a line on your phone or use a wireless air card. I recommend using one of following:

Sierra Wireless USB 598
Sierra Wireless USB 308
Sierra Wireless 250U – SYNC supports CDMA only
Sierra Wireless Overdrive
Mercury USBConnect Mercury

Here's a link for how to get started:

http://Support.Ford.com/sync-technol...c-myford-touch

Quote:

Originally Posted by whynotthinkwhynot (Post 4368850)
You could try asking "FordIVTeam" in a PM. That's our on-site Ford Sync corporate rep, and she should have answers for you. Her name is Jacyln IIRC. Just go to the User CP link in the dark blue banner above, then look for "Send a New Message" over on the left hand side about halfway down under "Private Messages", start typing "FordIVTeam" in the Recipent box, and a link for FordIVTeam should pop up.

Don't expect a response until Monday during regular work hours.

You know me well, whynotthinkwhynot, thanks for the referral! [8D]

Jaclyn

Sgt1255 09-26-2012 11:27 PM

FordIVTTeam,

Yes I did receive your PM. Thanks for the response. What is the difference with the different Security Types - WEP, WPA, and WPA2? Do I need a data plan from a provider or does getting the USB modem sync up with Sync where the vehicle provides the streaming? If it does, do I use the same password thats in Sync. I have been told that these modem have their own passwords that you have to use. Can you buy these USB directly from Sierra where no data plan is required?

Thanks for the help. I know I am a PIA but I have no idea how all this works. I am not a computer or networking guru lol.

Good Day
Ken

FordIVTteam 09-27-2012 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sgt1255 (Post 4375102)
FordIVTTeam,
Yes I did receive your PM. Thanks for the response. What is the difference with the different Security Types - WEP, WPA, and WPA2? Do I need a data plan from a provider or does getting the USB modem sync up with Sync where the vehicle provides the streaming? If it does, do I use the same password thats in Sync. I have been told that these modem have their own passwords that you have to use. Can you buy these USB directly from Sierra where no data plan is required?
Thanks for the help. I know I am a PIA but I have no idea how all this works. I am not a computer or networking guru lol.
Good Day
Ken

You are most definitely not a PIA, Ken!

These acronyms refer to different wireless encryption protocols that are intended to protect the information you send and receive over a wireless network.

WEP - Wired Equivalent Privacy
WPA - Wi-Fi Protected Access
WPA2 - Wi-Fi Protected Access 2

In my opinion, it's best to use WPA or WPA2 as they're known to be more secure than WEP.

Wikipedia offers a good breakdown:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wi-Fi_Protected_Access

In order to create a hot spot, you must pay for a tethered line on your wireless plan or purchase a wireless aircard.

I hope this helps!

Jaclyn

Sgt1255 09-27-2012 07:17 PM

Thank you. I got the answer I was looking for. I do highly appriciate all of your patience and assistance. I am sorry for being a PIA but I was still confused but now I am not. Once again, thank you for your help and your the best.

Good Day
Ken

FordIVTteam 09-28-2012 08:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sgt1255 (Post 4376436)
Thank you. I got the answer I was looking for. I do highly appriciate all of your patience and assistance. I am sorry for being a PIA but I was still confused but now I am not. Once again, thank you for your help and your the best.

Good Day
Ken

No problem, Ken! If you ever have any additional technology-related questions, give me a shout. [;)]

Jaclyn


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp