Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   New Driver. New focus owner , timing belt advice ? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=297639)

Artrocker 09-14-2012 07:31 AM

New Driver. New focus owner , timing belt advice ?

Hello ,
Thankyou for taking the time to read this , I have brought my first car , a ford focus 1.6 zetec 2001 . It has 83,000 miles on the clock very good condition exterior , normal wear and tear inside . The engine sounds so quiet and drives lovely.

Being a first time driver I am eager to learn more about how I service the car . I think the only reason anything will go wrong with it is if I fail the car .

So I been reading lots and noticed that it says about this timing belt needing replacing because if that goes wrong the engine will be damaged .

So onto my main question ? Should I replace the belt ? If I do can it wAit as we just paid out for the car so in a couple of months be better , but don't want to damage the car , are there any symptoms I should keep an eye out for ? Just want to treat her right so she keeps driving so well . MOT had no adversaries on it and is due in feb . I look forward to meeting everyone on here .

Thank you for reading , have a great day.

I love the focus was my car of choice :)

Kind regards

Jon

dbenney 09-14-2012 07:49 AM

A few things here. You may want to check with a dealer for confirmation. I would change the timing belt at around 100k. thats when iv always changed mine with NO issues. Also, I was told that the focus Ztec(DOHC...U.S. model anyway) was a non-interference engine, meaning that if the belt brakes the internal components will not hit each other.

just jake 09-14-2012 07:57 AM