Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK3 Focus (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=121)
-   -   I'm annoyed ... (SYNC dead again) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=297053)

Raceredrudy 09-06-2012 12:39 PM

I'm annoyed ... (SYNC dead again)
 
Over the last year my 2012 focus's sync would "not work" for a few days then "magically" be fine ...

- SYNC Media -- shows the screen for a split second and goes to radio.
"AUX" button -- same thing
Menu , SYNC media -- same

Now I just got my car back from the shop for a small repair , it went out about a week before that.

Today would be over a month and the same thing -- can't get to sync media so I can play my iPad music.

Is there a way to reset this thing [wrenchin] ? Or is a dealer trip required [xx(]

copernicium112 09-06-2012 12:46 PM

The reset procedure is in this thread:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=296886

Raceredrudy 09-07-2012 10:32 AM

Thanks man , but unfortunately I can't even access the phone menu . Same deal with the aux button.

Is there another way to reset ?

copernicium112 09-07-2012 10:46 AM

Unfortunately I think your only options at this point are fuse pulls (I don't know the fuse #(s) for Sync but someone here does I'm sure), battery disconnect, or a trip to the dealer.

TboneZX3 09-07-2012 11:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by copernicium112 (Post 4340053)
Unfortunately I think your only options at this point are fuse pulls (I don't know the fuse #(s) for Sync but someone here does I'm sure), battery disconnect, or a trip to the dealer.

The owner's manual says it's fuse #67 for SYNC, which is in the passenger compartment fuse panel. I would go ahead and pull #79 also, it's for several items including the radio.

FordIVTteam 09-07-2012 02:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by copernicium112 (Post 4338484)
The reset procedure is in this thread:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=296886

Thanks for sharing the reset process, copernicium112. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raceredrudy (Post 4340028)
Thanks man , but unfortunately I can't even access the phone menu . Same deal with the aux button.
Is there another way to reset ?

Hi, Raceredrudy -

Did you try the fuse pull? I'd like to look into this, please PM me your VIN and some details.

Jaclyn

roddy piper 09-07-2012 03:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TboneZX3 (Post 4340263)
The owner's manual says it's fuse #67 for SYNC, which is in the passenger compartment fuse panel. I would go ahead and pull #79 also, it's for several items including the radio.

The fuses are listed in the manuel and are behind a soft panel by the pasenger footwell. Takes a few minutes and mine has been perfect since I reset a couple of weeks ago. There is even a fuse holder in the fuse box under the hood.....good luck

Altis 09-07-2012 05:59 PM

Personally, I'd just take it to the dealer. You didn't buy a brand new car to learn how to perform service on its quirks.. [poke]

Raceredrudy 09-07-2012 06:05 PM

I got to the fuses , and I found the right fuse (although I couldn't make out the "67" on it but I determined via owners guide it was the right one) under the glove box ---

Unfortunately I don't know much about car stuff and I have no idea how to remove a fuse or how to disconnect the battery ... Heck I couldn't even find the - !!!

I'm sending you a PM now FordTeam !

copernicium112 09-07-2012 06:05 PM

One learns fast with Sync and/or MFT that dealing with its quirks yourself sometimes takes a lot less time out of your life than dealership visits. I'm not saying that is a good thing, I am just saying.....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.