Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK3 Focus (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=121)
-   -   MFT Diagnostic mode (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=296928)

chaimav 09-04-2012 10:24 PM

MFT Diagnostic mode
 
I just found out how to get into diagnostic mode for MFT. Hold down the right seek button (to the right of the volume knob) and the CD eject button at the same time for a few seconds.

To give proper credit where credit is due, a special shout out to jimmkx2k11 of fordsyncforum who posted a link to this youtube video
[YOUTUBE][YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtOn-...layer_embedded[/YOUTUBE][/YOUTUBE]

One cool feature is that you can see the version of all the different pieces of software you have installed

Kabigon 09-04-2012 11:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chaimav (Post 4336115)
I just found out how to get into diagnostic mode for MFT. Hold down the right seek button (to the right of the volume knob) and the CD eject button at the same time for a few seconds.

To give proper credit where credit is due, a special shout out to jimmkx2k11 of fordsyncforum who posted a link to this youtube video
[YOUTUBE][YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtOn-...layer_embedded[/YOUTUBE][/YOUTUBE]

One cool feature is that you can see the version of all the different pieces of software you have installed

That procedure has been posted here several times before but a repost for newer members is not a bad thing.

knightp25 09-05-2012 07:22 AM

wonder if there is a way to activate the GPS with a button combo some how

hotleadsingerguy 09-05-2012 08:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by knightp25 (Post 4336417)
wonder if there is a way to activate the GPS with a button combo some how

What do you mean "activate" the GPS?


And yes, this Diagnostics mode has been discussed many times, but it's a good thing to know. When you put in a module that has not yet been provisioned, it's a giant button on the screen too. It was very useful in acquiring the part number for the Nav-included MFT module [neener]

pozi240 09-05-2012 08:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by knightp25 (Post 4336417)
wonder if there is a way to activate the GPS with a button combo some how

The "GPS" is already active in your MFT unit. You can see that anytime by going into your Information section and selecting the "where am I" option and it will give you your actual lat/long coordinates.... its the NAV portion that people want to add in...

knightp25 09-05-2012 09:31 AM

thats what i meant was the NAV, should be a way to activate it.


did anyone try Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, A, B, A, B, Select, Start

suss6052 09-05-2012 10:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by knightp25 (Post 4336574)
thats what i meant was the NAV, should be a way to activate it.


did anyone try Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, A, B, A, B, Select, Start

That doesn't work, although the modules are roughly the same, only those vehicles provisioned with it at the factory and showing up in their "as-built" files are capable of performing navigation, or at least that's the line that IVT and Ford claim is true.

If you could get them to provision the module that had nav enabled you could swap it into your car, but they seem to be unwilling to even when people will offer good money for it after the fact.

Some one already proved its possible to add navigation to a mft equipped car just by taking the already provisioned and working module out of a wrecked car with navigation. Another member here even went to the trouble of buying the module outright from Ford, but they directly refused to set it up, so they may have to resort to subterfuge just to prove that it can be done.

hotleadsingerguy 09-05-2012 10:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by suss6052 (Post 4336609)
That doesn't work, although the modules are roughly the same, only those vehicles provisioned with it at the factory and showing up in their "as-built" files are capable of performing navigation, or at least that's the line that IVT and Ford claim is true.

If you could get them to provision the module that had nav enabled you could swap it into your car, but they seem to be unwilling to even when people will offer good money for it after the fact.

Some one already proved its possible to add navigation to a mft equipped car just by taking the already provisioned and working module out of a wrecked car with navigation. Another member here even went to the trouble of buying the module outright from Ford, but they directly refused to set it up, so they may have to resort to subterfuge just to prove that it can be done.

(He's talking about me in the last sentence)

I'm getting it done today, actually. The module is at the dealership being provisioned in another car, hopefully as we converse. They provisioned it in my car the first time and it worked perfectly except for the Nav. Apparently the features of the module are installed in some kind of ad-hoc fashion, and it all streams directly from the Ford servers. This means that it checks against your VIN when it attempts the provisioning. Everything installed except for the Nav application, which he couldn't get installed.

Either way, it's sitting in a Nav-equipped car right now being provisioned, and it should be good to go either tonight or tomorrow morning for dropping it into my car. I'm currently sitting at around $1200 cost (for the module, SD card, and provisioning), but I would have gladly just given $1200 to Ford to have done it all for me in one instance. It's just too bad I have to jump through hoops to give them my money!

Either way, subterfuge does not equal illegality. Thus far I've done nothing illegal, so there would be nothing wrong with others doing this exact thing. I've even had the help of a few service techs in getting it done, so really the only shady portion is actually purchasing the module (which Ford makes it difficult to do).

darkangelism 09-05-2012 10:47 AM

at least your dealer is being helpful

suss6052 09-05-2012 10:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hotleadsingerguy (Post 4336646)
Either way, subterfuge does not equal illegality. Thus far I've done nothing illegal, so there would be nothing wrong with others doing this exact thing. I've even had the help of a few service techs in getting it done, so really the only shady portion is actually purchasing the module (which Ford makes it difficult to do).

I didn't say there was anything illegal in what you were doing, after all you purchased the module outright, but its a shame that we have to play these games in order to get it to work.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp