Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   DURATEC Performance (2003-2011) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   spectre kit help (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=296906)

sam fisher 09-04-2012 05:53 PM

spectre kit help
 
so i bought a 60 degree bend , a 90 degree bend and spectre filter ,
as specified in this thread which is probly the best stealth cai iv seen .

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...ght=pvc+intake

BUT there is a tiny problem lol . spectre doesnt sell a coupler bigger than 3 " , thats a little too small to attach onto the stock maf tube .

so i guess all i need to know is what should i use to join the filter and bends to the maf tube?

boardgeneration 09-04-2012 06:16 PM

I bought the spectre kit and used 3" couplers they had at autozone. Worked fine for me. http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/09/05/2u6uja3a.jpg

boardgeneration 09-04-2012 06:18 PM

Oh shoot! Yea I actually cut the wide part of the maf tube with the honey comb off and coupled it onto the spectre kit. Sorry I forgot about that.

sam fisher 09-04-2012 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boardgeneration (Post 4335763)
Oh shoot! Yea I actually cut the wide part of the maf tube with the honey comb off and coupled it onto the spectre kit. Sorry I forgot about that.

good stuff , see i dont know why but the 3 inch spectre coupler was just too small , i tried boiling it and forming it around the maf tube , and i also tried a heat gun , the thing just would not budge .

sam fisher 09-04-2012 07:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boardgeneration (Post 4335762)
I bought the spectre kit and used 3" couplers they had at autozone. Worked fine for me. http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/09/05/2u6uja3a.jpg

i also see that in your pic your maf tube looks to be a little smaller than mine because i have the same couplers and its just too small , edit: wait did you even retain your stock maf tube , now that i look harder , is the maf going into the kits tubes? i am going to keep my maf tube .

sam fisher 09-04-2012 07:26 PM

i still have to finish it so i will try to take some pics to post up

boardgeneration 09-04-2012 09:20 PM

I used my stock maf tube. However the top section of it was over 3" and I couldn't fit the coupler over it.
I took a dremel to the section of the maf tube that holds a honeycomb screen. I cut off a total of maybe two to three inches. If u look at the stock tube you will see there is plenty of tube to couple onto if u cut that top wide section off. However there's no reusing it on the stock air box obviously.

sam fisher 09-04-2012 11:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boardgeneration (Post 4335992)
I used my stock maf tube. However the top section of it was over 3" and I couldn't fit the coupler over it.
I took a dremel to the section of the maf tube that holds a honeycomb screen. I cut off a total of maybe two to three inches. If u look at the stock tube you will see there is plenty of tube to couple onto if u cut that top wide section off. However there's no reusing it on the stock air box obviously.

just did that , i would post the pics but i have no idea how to do that on here , when i click insert image it tells me to type in a [:)][:)][:)][:)][:)][:)]g url .

sam fisher 09-04-2012 11:33 PM

also , do you have anything supporting the setup or is it free-hanging? im not sure how im going to support mine

boardgeneration 09-05-2012 07:09 PM

The stock maf tube clamp fit correctly the way I set mine up. http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/09/06/setamugy.jpg

As for posting images, take ur pic. Upload it to photobucket. Click on the pic once it's on photobucket and copy/paste [IMG] URL to ur post. That's it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp