Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK3 Focus (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=121)
-   -   New phone do I need to re"sync" (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=296892)

12FocusSE 09-04-2012 01:49 PM

New phone do I need to re"sync"
 
I had a droid but now I have an iPhone and was wondering if there was any special procedures to get it to sync up with my focus. I remember having to go online and register, but can I just turn my bluetooth on my phone and be good to go?

kam327 09-04-2012 01:51 PM

Yes you have to re-sync. Your manual spells it out clearly. You should probably delete your old phone from the system and install the new one as your primary phone.

copernicium112 09-04-2012 02:07 PM

If you kept your same phone # you don't have to re-register it online at syncmyride.com but yes, as kam said, you do have to pair the new phone with the car (and as he also said, probably wise to delete the old phone).

FordIVTteam 09-05-2012 02:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 12FocusSE (Post 4335356)
I had a droid but now I have an iPhone and was wondering if there was any special procedures to get it to sync up with my focus. I remember having to go online and register, but can I just turn my bluetooth on my phone and be good to go?

Hi, 12FocusSE -

kam327 is right! You'll have to pair your new phone with the system. I recommend performing a Master Reset first. Here are instructions for both processes:

Master Reset:

http://support.ford.com/sync-technol...ter-reset-sync

Pairing:

http://Support.Ford.com/sync-technol...our-phone-sync

Follow the steps below to enable Bluetooth on your iPhone:

SETTINGS > GENERAL > BLUETOOTH

Quote:

Originally Posted by copernicium112 (Post 4335386)
If you kept your same phone # you don't have to re-register it online at syncmyride.com but yes, as kam said, you do have to pair the new phone with the car (and as he also said, probably wise to delete the old phone).

If you ever change your phone number, copernicium112, be sure to edit the number that's already in the account. Creating a new one will prompt you to pay for services. To do so, login to your account and navigate through the following:

click on the ACCOUNT SETTINGS tab > Click on MY SYNC ACCOUNT > PHONE NUMBER MANAGEMENT

If either of you have questions, let me know.

Jaclyn

JimsterG 10-03-2012 03:30 PM

If you ever change your phone number, copernicium112, be sure to edit the number that's already in the account. Creating a new one will prompt you to pay for services. To do so, login to your account and navigate through the following:

click on the ACCOUNT SETTINGS tab > Click on MY SYNC ACCOUNT > PHONE NUMBER MANAGEMENT

If either of you have questions, let me know.

Jaclyn
__________________
Ford In-Vehicle Technology Team

I think it is very nice that Ford monitors this forum and provides answers. A very nice touch!

FordIVTteam 10-04-2012 09:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimsterG (Post 4385549)

I think it is very nice that Ford monitors this forum and provides answers. A very nice touch!

Thanks, JimsterG, I must say, I have a pretty sweet job! [;)]

Jaclyn


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp