Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK2 Focus (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   sub disaster :'( (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=296827)

Heining17 09-03-2012 04:11 PM

sub disaster :'(
 
Alright, my friend (he is experienced in putting subs in cars) and I tried putting a sub and amp in my 09 focus se. It has the basic stereo so we had to take out th head unit and put in the line out converter. So he snipped some wires to get the converter in their and then he snipped another orangish grayish wire to fuse in with the power wire or whatever wire controls when the sub is on and off. So in conclusion the sub does not work still and now my passenger air bag light thing doesn't work right. Please help. Im stressing!

volcomstone1966 09-03-2012 04:34 PM

I can't help you but he done F ed up

ah1f39 09-03-2012 05:00 PM

When I installed an amp/sub in a friends 09, I tapped the amp trigger (violet/red) near the steering column: and the LR speaker (white/green-brown/yellow) at the bottom of the drivers B-pillar with a LOC. Amp power was pulled from the battery using an amp install kit.

popwarhomie 09-03-2012 06:17 PM

Lol. Guess your friend isnt so "experienced"

02svtf300 09-03-2012 07:51 PM

Shouldn't just go snipping wires... wireing diagrams are to available.

GN Prime 09-03-2012 08:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by popwarhomie (Post 4334210)
Lol. Guess your friend isnt so "experienced"

Quote:

Originally Posted by 02svtf300 (Post 4334318)
Shouldn't just go snipping wires... wireing diagrams are to available.

lol yup an "experienced" person would know to not start cutting things!

ah1f39 09-03-2012 08:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GN Prime (Post 4334345)
lol yup an "experienced" person would know to not start cutting things!

Use the propper connectors and you don't need to cut anything.

Kipp 09-03-2012 10:09 PM

on the 08-11 there is no turn-on at the headunit. have to go to an acc wire from the fuse box or ignition. take that all out and put the wiring back together and unhook the battery for about 20-30 minutes. that should hopefully reset the airbag light.

Heining17 09-03-2012 10:33 PM

I think I had an anxiety attack over this lol, so after I posted this I took time out to breathe and check everything over. The airbag light is good! I was talking about the one right above the microsoft sync box and usb port. I thought it was supposed to stay lit even when nonbodys in the seat but I read the car manual and its fine. Now, I am still having the problem of the sub and amp not working but I think thats because we didnt tapp the right amp trigger. Thanks for all your help guys.

mac.mogul 09-04-2012 04:08 PM

There is no remote wire on the stock head unit. You will need an LOC that creates one or an amplifier that has an automatic setting to turn on when there is signal. There is a way to connect to the fuse box to rig a remote but I don't know anything about it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp