Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance (2012-Current) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   Moar TQ Down Low? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=292911)

wantz12 07-16-2012 06:43 PM

Moar TQ Down Low?

Anybody have any ideas how to bump up the torque down low? Excuse my noobness, but I'm just starting to learn about the performance stuff.

Anyways, I was thinking while driving through some twisties today that the K&N intake really shines above the 4.5K range, but down lower it seems to lack. Seeing as we only really get 4.5 - 6K before the car shifts, I'm wondering about mods to push more torque down low.

I know an exhaust would provide more power, but would it help with TQ as well?

JL330 07-16-2012 08:47 PM

Exhaust would probably shift your power band even higher. I don't know if it's doable, but on other cars I've driven, things like intake and tb spacers tend to shift the tq curve lower. The longer intake runners give you more low end and short runners give you more top end.

StockTalon 07-16-2012 08:50 PM

An equal length shorty will shift the curve to the left.

JL330 07-16-2012 08:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by StockTalon (Post 4262069)
An equal length shorty will shift the curve to the left.

Didn't know how those worked on these cars. They're a big waste of money in the mustang world.

StockTalon 07-16-2012 09:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JL330 (Post 4262082)
Didn't know how those worked on these cars. They're a big waste of money in the mustang world.

They are and they aren't, it depends where you need the power. The Fox bodies I have had all fell on their face up top. Where, long tubes would make that drop in power less.