Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Forced Induction (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   oil pressure high in the focus head??? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=288536)

drunkyoda 05-24-2012 11:25 AM

oil pressure high in the focus head???
 
I was talking to the guy that i am buying my turbo kit from. he said that the focus has a high oil pressure in the head and like to blow the SPA turbos by putting to much oil into them. is this true? should i get a restrictor like a jet or something? He said i could get like a nitrous jet to restrict the oil flow going to the turbo...

Slammed_2.0 05-24-2012 11:32 AM

i've seen most turbo installs use the factory oil pressure sensor location for oil supply or a sandwich adapter. I've never heard of such thing of what your stating...

1turbofocus 05-24-2012 03:09 PM

If the guy that is selling you your turbo kit told you this he doesnt have a clue what he is talking about and you should run from any advise he is giving you

Reason one ) oil psi is the same in an engine if its taken from the oil at the block or head

Reason two) there is or has been no issues with hundreds of Foci people getting the oil from the head

I would be very carefull with any turbo advise from this guy if he doesnt know any more then this , who is it ?

Use the restricter between the oil line and turbo to lower the oil psi going into the turbo

Tom

Mother Focus 05-24-2012 03:12 PM

It is higher than usual if you have a high flow oil pump, but it only depends on the turbo if you'll need a restrictor, they come in different sizes to match the different needs.

drunkyoda 05-24-2012 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1turbofocus (Post 4182132)

Use the restricter between the oil line and turbo to lower the oil psi going into the turbo

Tom

sorry if something was misunderstood but this is actually what he told me to do. where would i get a proper sized restrictor? im not sure on this part yet.

this info was given by a guy from some company that does not really work on foci... he said the couple he heard about thought they had to put a restrictor between the oil line and turbo. he bought a bunch of spa kits a long time ago and is selling them off.

1turbofocus 05-24-2012 03:49 PM

Comp turbo has the restrictors and im sure there is a lot of other places as well , I would have who ever has to warranty the kit tell you what restrictor to install that way they cannot say you went to big or to small a restrictor

Tom

drunkyoda 05-24-2012 04:16 PM

ok i emailed support of the people i believe are in charge of SPA. we shall see what they say.. if they dont say anything and i found out the specs of the turbo could you tell me what size i would need?

ZXthrizzle05 05-25-2012 12:47 PM

shane my turbo gets its oil from the head. theres two little ports on the drivers side of the head. the one closest to the fan i ran to my turbo and the one closest to the firewall i ran to the oil pressure gage. this guy honestly scares me with advise hes giving out

drunkyoda 05-29-2012 09:22 AM

sean i may need help with my oil lines.. that is the only part that confuses me..

1turbofocus 05-29-2012 09:59 AM

Use the one behind the coil , there are 3 legs on the bracket that holds the coil , cut the one off that is at the oil hole , use a 1/8 NPT x -3 90 deg oil fitting

Tom


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp