Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Adding Subwoofers to a Titanium (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=287287)

mellonas 05-08-2012 05:39 PM

Adding Subwoofers to a Titanium
 
Do you think it is a good idea to hook a system up to the Sony stereo system? I am not quite sure how that would work, since adding an aftermarket cd player isn't really an option. How would this work with the MyFord Touch? Has anyone already done this? Any problems? I was thinking about just adding like 1 12", since it's already got great bass for a stock radio

blackraven456 05-09-2012 09:11 AM

Personally I think the system is the best sounding factory system I've ever heard, but there is an amp in the trunk underneith the carpet liner that I'm sure you could plug a different woofer into.

kingsoup 05-11-2012 01:23 PM

I think you're going to have a really hard time improving on this system, a 12" will give more kick, but the factory is pretty good already.

BlueIce 05-11-2012 01:52 PM

Id like to swap out the factory one for a 12", I have thought about it. But at the same time, since there is no way to independently control the sub, I have a feeling it would get REALLY annoying for some songs.

I Bleed Ford Blue 05-11-2012 02:45 PM

Considering that the Ti's already have a sub and a sub box, you can just swap them out for something better. But just a simple swap will do little to improve things. Since ford castrates the sound, your better off replacing the HU or adding an LOC that also fixes the sound quality issues then run your own amps.

mellonas 05-11-2012 03:18 PM

I've always had at least 2 12"s in my car, I've gotten so used to having them that even this nice ass stock sound system
...I want it louder. Ive never had to independently control the subs so that wouldn't be a problem for me. I guess my best bet is to go to an audio shop and check out my options.

BlueIce 05-11-2012 05:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mellonas (Post 4159752)
I've always had at least 2 12"s in my car, I've gotten so used to having them that even this nice ass stock sound system
...I want it louder. Ive never had to independently control the subs so that wouldn't be a problem for me. I guess my best bet is to go to an audio shop and check out my options.

I used to have over 1,400 watts in my car before. Now, I'm quite over all that lol.

kaptinkurk 05-20-2012 10:55 PM

You want to be very careful simply replacing the old sub with a new one. You do not want to over stress the factory amp and burn it up, as this will void your warranty on it.

Some big things to keep in mind when installing subs:
• What Ohms does the sub run at, and what ohms does the amp output at
• When wiring multiple subs, what is the total ohm load on the amp
• What RMS and Peek watts does the sub require
• What is the amount of watts that the amp delivers to the sub

Those are just some quick points to check. If you cannot answer those 100%, then you should not be installing subs without professional help. Continuing to do so can fry your amp, ruin the subs, or cause serious wire damage inside the car.

BlueIce 05-21-2012 11:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kaptinkurk (Post 4174911)
You want to be very careful simply replacing the old sub with a new one. You do not want to over stress the factory amp and burn it up, as this will void your warranty on it.

Some big things to keep in mind when installing subs:
What Ohms does the sub run at, and what ohms does the amp output at
When wiring multiple subs, what is the total ohm load on the amp
What RMS and Peek watts does the sub require
What is the amount of watts that the amp delivers to the sub

Those are just some quick points to check. If you cannot answer those 100%, then you should not be installing subs without professional help. Continuing to do so can fry your amp, ruin the subs, or cause serious wire damage inside the car.

x2 If youre looking to add a sub to the stock amp. I'd definitely talk to a professional first. Especially with the placement of the amp, overburdening it is almost a sure thing and it will most likely burn up. Not much ventilation.

That's why I probably won't touch mine. You'll most likely have to (at the very least) change the amp and the sub.

mellonas 05-30-2012 10:14 AM

So went by an audio shop down the street and they said all they would have to do is plug a new amp into the old one to run the new subs. I had an old pathfinder with the bose audio system and it had its own amp and i ran subs through it for like 8 years so Im sure this would be just fine


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.