Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Focus Tuning Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   Adjusting tune for aftermarket Duratec IM (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=287014)

sporadic 05-05-2012 04:18 PM

Adjusting tune for aftermarket Duratec IM
 
I'll be installing a cossie knock-off manifold sometime this spring/summer and would like to know some things to anticipate changing in PRP.
I know I'll be changing the IMRC flag to 0 since that will be gone. What idle-related values should I expect to tweak? I plan on keeping the IAC to prevent stalling and A/C use.
I suppose this question is directed at Tom as he is already familiar with my car, but could also be valuable to others if they come across the thread.

Car is 2.0 Duratec turbo. Stock motor plus a little 11psi turbo. 55# injectors.

Thanks [cheers]

sporadic 05-29-2012 08:51 AM

Bump. Looking to do this fairly soon, but the turbo will be a GT2871 instead of the IHI I have now.

1turbofocus 05-29-2012 09:56 AM

If you paid for your tuning through me just because you now have the PRP doesnt mean I would keep helping you , Just shoot me an log and I will help

Tom

sporadic 05-29-2012 10:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1turbofocus (Post 4188762)
If you paid for your tuning through me just because you now have the PRP doesnt mean I would keep helping you , Just shoot me an log and I will help

Tom

Thanks Tom. I will take a stab at it myself first and then bug you if I get hung up. I was just curious about any obvious issues you knew off the top of your head that I'll need to work around.

1turbofocus 05-29-2012 11:29 AM

It should go smooth , just dont do anything crazy just adjust the basics , DO NOT try anything like changing the intake size , keep it simple , fuel , timing , idle and then turn off any CEL

Tom

sporadic 05-29-2012 11:30 AM

Excellent, thank you.

sporadic 09-21-2012 09:45 PM

My Cossie knock-off IM is installed and 90% tuned after MUCH frustration due to one little flag.
Do NOT set the IMRC switch to "0". It will cause endless fueling problems!!

This is what I changed (or not) in my tune to compensate for installing a new intake manifold with no flaps. You may be able to get away with leaving the spark tables alone, but personally I like to know exactly where the total spark value is coming from without guessing whether or not the PCM is actually adjusting for IMRC.

1) leave the System Switches\Scalar\IMRC Switch at "1"
2) Add the IMRC\Spark Adder to Borderline for IMRCs values to the Spark\Borderline Knock\Borderline Knock Table
3) Zero-out the IMRC\Spark Adder to Borderline for IMRCs values
4) Add the IMRC\Spark Adder to MBT Table for IMRCs values to Spark\MBT Spark\MBT Spark Table
5) Zero-out the IMRC\Spark Adder to MBT Table for IMRCs values
6) leave IMRC\IMRC Opening RPM as-is. This seems to no longer have an effect, as the "imrc open" flag is always "1" now in the logs, even at idle.

There are some tables under "Transient Fuel" which I did not touch.
I will update this thread if I feel there is anything else to add.

In closing, I will say that I DO NOT KNOW exactly why the PCM 1) negates the load calculation at the IMRC Open RPM position and 2) pulls fuel like crazy by setting the IMRC Switch to "0". Until I hear an explanation I am going to assume it is a bug in the SCT software.

1turbofocus 09-23-2012 09:43 AM

Set all your MBT tables to 60 vs 0

That is strange , I just looked at all the duratecs I have done and have set the IMRC switch to 0 with no issues


Tom


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp