Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Help with fog and break lights on RS focus (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28528)

baj 10-25-2004 09:36 AM

Help with fog and break lights on RS focus

Hi all i am new to the Focus scene so i am sorry if this has been answered before.
My friend is having a problem with the break and fog lights on his RS focus.
When the break is pressed the fog lights come on with the break lights. If you turn on the fog light the breaks come on too.
Does any one have any ideas what could be causing this. i have checked all the fuses and every thing seems fine.
He said that this happend a little while after fitting a new stereo. i have removed the stereo but it is still doing the same thing.

Has any one got any ideas or know where i can get wiring diagrams from?
Thanks in advance
Baj[thumb]

knightriderzx3 10-25-2004 09:41 AM

not really sure, but the first thing that i would check would be the fuse panel. look to see if there is something connecting the 2 fuses by accident. if not, take it in to the dealership.

cheers.

baj 10-25-2004 09:45 AM

I did sugest taking back to the dealer but he said it has been chipped along with other work and if he takes it back it would void the warrenty on the car. just wanted to see if i could resolve the problem before going back to the dealers.
I even removed the fog fuse but they still come on when you press the breaks.

knightriderzx3 10-25-2004 09:50 AM

take the chip out and see if that works. if so, get the chip re-burned. if you can't take it out, call the chip manufacturers and ask them if they've ever encountered this problem before.

baj 10-25-2004 09:53 AM

would the chip cause such a strange problem??? i am new to the ford scene but i would not of thought this would cause the problem.