Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   2012 installing amP help (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=282352)

rthomas0904 03-15-2012 04:03 PM

2012 installing amP help
 
How do I remove the bottom panel to run the power and RCA cable under it. The only option I see is holding up the weather striping and sticking a flathead screw driving and prying... I can plent of info on door panels but none on this... Also, and pictures or how to vids of how to remove head unit and whole center trim piece so I can install the loc would he appreciated also.

eyeballeater 03-16-2012 05:59 AM

How to remove head unit: http://www.justanswer.com/ford/5pzby...ord-focus.html

rthomas0904 03-16-2012 02:15 PM

Wow I couldn't find shit on that to save my life. There's half my journey, thank you

eyeballeater 03-17-2012 12:45 AM

Here is some pics I took of how I attacked the wiring to hook up my LOC. Probably might help you out too. Mine is the SE model with base 4 speaker audio. Yours my vary a bit. Rep is always welcome.
http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/a...nelRemoval.jpg
http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/a...earofpanel.jpg
http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/a...nitharness.jpg

rthomas0904 03-19-2012 02:01 PM

Got all my goodies today and started the install.... Eyeball, that info was the tits. Also, removing the panels beneath the door to run the wires was punctually much easier then I had planned. Have a huge problem though... Where to run the amp power cable through the firewall.... It appears like I have no holes where I can slid a 4 gauge wire through.... My focus is manual so i can't use the hole for the clutch cables. really don't want to drill a hole, but if i got to I better try to find a drill somewhere... Also, where have people been using as a ground in the hatchbacks? Any info on the firewall dilemma would be awesome... everything is in my car and wired up, just waiting on power...

alaskanzx5 03-19-2012 06:37 PM

a seat bolt is a good ground, take a seat bolt out and sand all the paint under the bolt off and if the bolt is painted sand the paint off the bolt. you want to make sure to get all the paint off where the wire will be touching, some sand paper and a wire brush will clean all the paint right off.

pastoriusk2 03-19-2012 08:15 PM

There is a rubber grommet on the passenger side of the firewall where the main wiring harness goes in. What I did was cut a small X with an exacto knife away from the center so you don't nick any of the wires. Then you should be able to shove the power wire through that. I used 2 gauge wire so it was kind of a pain, but 4 gauge should be easy.

DaeHanL 06-14-2012 08:54 AM

Sub wiring was done by me. I know it's right.
I had the LOC installed at Best Buy, cause I don't know what I'm doing and it's only $20-
My sub does not sound very good at all. Sounds incomplete, not full. That got me suspicious of the wiring of the LOC.
Turns out only the front right side was hooked up! Opposed to both sides.
Would that definitely affect the sound coming from the sub? If so, I'm taking it back ASAP.
If not I'm assuming my set up just sucks.

BLarson 07-15-2012 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyeballeater (Post 4062506)
Here is some pics I took of how I attacked the wiring to hook up my LOC. Probably might help you out too. Mine is the SE model with base 4 speaker audio. Yours my vary a bit.

Your the man!! Thank you for this!!

BLarson 08-21-2012 03:20 AM

Okay, I am a total noob when it comes to stereo installs but the local shop wanted to charge me $200 just for labor and another $70 in parts to install my subs and amp. I am very familiar with electrical work so i thought why not at least try it, as I've heard it's not too complicated.

So I've looked into what goes into it and have found a few questions. I've heard you can splice the LOC into the rear speaker instead of up near the head unit? I've heard you can use an amp which has line in inputs instead of an LOC? And if I instal the LOC near my dash, how many channels do I need on my LOC? I have a SE hatch with the tech package. So it has 4 speakers and two tweeters. I'm just trying to add a amp and two 12"s. Ive also seen a vast difference in price between LOC's, from $15-100. Get what you pay for? Or buy cheep? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I want to do it right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp