Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   DURATEC Performance (2008-2011) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=329)
-   -   '08 Cam upgrade help (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=262907)

Phoenix3745 07-11-2011 02:07 PM

'08 Cam upgrade help
 
ok i've gone and stuffed a pair of Cosworth cams into my 2008 focus and hit a bit of a snag.
I know they were made for the 2.3 but the lure of free cams was too tempting. heres the fact

They fit perfect
timing is stock
the '08 has 6 timing pickups for the Cam angle sensor
the Cosworth has 1
The cams work great performance wise
car wont start first couple of tries engine light comes stating cam angle sensor fault.
Cam sensor has been replaced with new one

I would like to keep the cams seeing as they do work. I would just like to fix the starting and engine code problem.

my question is can the timing be changed from 6 to 1 with the ecu

or

does anyone know any great engine builders who could take the timing ring off the '08 cam shaft and adapt it to the Cosworth

any info would be greatly appreciated

SlateTheGreat 07-11-2011 02:34 PM

All I know about cams in an 08+ is that they repositioned the cam sensor in our generation and that means previous cams won't work with ours. If you've found a way to get past that, post up a how to cause I know many that would kill for it.


Id also PM Tom about your no start and code.

K Dog 07-11-2011 05:12 PM

Pics of both cams please. Sensor end obviously.

Lappracing 07-11-2011 06:57 PM

You can't use those cams. Been there, done that. The only way to do it is to change to a pre- '08 ecu or go with a stand alone ecu. Either way is a big job. The pre-'08 ecu will not plug into the '08+ wiring harness.

The location of the cam sensor is not the problem, it's the 5 pick-ups. The '08 is looking for these 5 signals.

For all of you ECU programming experts, PLEASE prove me wrong. Tell me that you found a way to make this work, I would love to be wrong.

SlateTheGreat 07-11-2011 07:10 PM

Seriously though.....I want an all motor 08.....turbo is expensive.....lol

Randori 07-11-2011 08:23 PM

All motor is MORE expensive! Trust me... (See mods in profile.)
If you turbo, you get power and otherwise it behaves like it should.
All motor, is a CRAZY idea for those who like narrow power bands and crabby idle... Like me.

SlateTheGreat 07-11-2011 11:40 PM

Fair point, I was so tired posting today lol not really thinking through my answers :).

Everything doesn't matter since I have an automatic :( lol.

To the OP, post up those pics for Kdog!!!

koke'sfocus 07-12-2011 01:36 AM

Nope they don't work in our gen the most u can do is buy some stock cams and do some custom grind to them ask psurivie he was selling a custom set of cams I was gonna buy them but maybe later when I do the 2.3 head swap
Posted via FF Mobile

PSUrivie 07-12-2011 07:41 AM

^yeah, I still have them. Crower did a custom grind for me. I never installed them because I went FI. You're best bet is to go this route using stock cams. Crower got me a grind somewhere between there stage 1 and 2 Focus cams if you want to compare them. There is not enough cam lobe on the stockers to get a stage 2 grind out of them. Crower and I went back and forth for a few weeks to get them right. I can email the spec sheet if you would like.
HOWEVER, while typing this I just got an idea. Since you have your stock cams, I'm wondering if you could swap the "spur" from your stock cam to the Cossie. Doing that the ECU will get the proper signal it's looking for. I would call Crower and ask them if you could send them the Cossie cams and the stock cams so they can compare them. Maybe all they need to do swap the spur over. They are really nice and will gladly help you out. It's just that your car will be down and out for awhile.

Phoenix3745 07-12-2011 12:31 PM

Thank you all for your replies.
Thanks PSU I completely forgot about regrinding.
Granted if I could get my hands on blanks that would allow any grind. But the cosworths I have are the stage one which just gives a longer duration and keeps the stock lift, so a regrind would be easiest to pull off.

I looked more into swaping the timing spur and noticed that the section of cam where it sits is a larger diameter then where the timing prong is on the cosworth. I have pictures but you'll have to wait two weeks until I get home from work. Sorry.

So my next corse is a regrind of the stock to match the duration of the cosworths and then shim up stuff. Yay old school mods [wrenchin]

I should document this


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.