Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Focus Tuning Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   Newb question... Best tuner? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=261105)

pyzik 06-20-2011 09:52 AM

Newb question... Best tuner?
 
Okay, sorry in advance if this is asked everyday. I did a search and didnt come up with what I was looking for.

What is the best tuner for a duratec? Xcal, x3,? I see those a lot.

My friend just bought one for his F150 and I am hooked. Forget the brand he bought but they only make them for trucks.

Thanks, as always.

1turbofocus 06-20-2011 11:00 AM

Yes the xcal3 is your only choise for the Duratec Focus

I sell them for 399.00 and 20.00 for shipping and that comes with a Custom Tune and FREE NA updates as you add more mods

Tom

pyzik 06-20-2011 11:48 AM

That's a handheld model right? Not dash mounted. Can you leave it plugged in for real time info?

Thanks again.

iminhell 06-20-2011 04:30 PM

No you can't leave it plugged in. The XcalIII logs the data always, it can't do display only. Once the internal memory is full and you keep logging problems can arise.

If you want something to view live data you're better off with something like a Dash Hawk or a Scan Gauge II.

Blivit 06-20-2011 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by iminhell (Post 3712824)
The XcalIII logs the data always, it can't do display only. Once the internal memory is full and you keep logging problems can arise.

If you want something to view live data you're better off with something like a Dash Hawk or a Scan Gauge II.

While one is better off getting something different for monitoring if all you want to see is gauges, you can use the X3 for display only. You will not have gauges but you can view the numbers live. When you set up the log you can turn off the recording and monitor for however long you want.

iminhell 06-20-2011 04:49 PM

Really, didn't know that.
Can the XcalII do the same thing?

pyzik 06-20-2011 04:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blivit (Post 3712838)
While one is better off getting something different for monitoring if all you want to see is gauges, you can use the X3 for display only. You will not have gauges but you can view the numbers live. When you set up the log you can turn off the recording and monitor for however long you want.

Cool beans. That's probably good enough for me. Thanks.

Blivit 06-20-2011 10:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by iminhell (Post 3712843)
Really, didn't know that.
Can the XcalII do the same thing?

Yes; its more of a pain but it is possible.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.