Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Focus Tuning Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   xcal3 and data logging question (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=253684)

MacAttack 03-21-2011 09:24 PM

xcal3 and data logging question
 
Today I tried to do some data logging on my ride to and from work. However, when I got home, I went to look at the files through LiveLink. When I went to import the data log files from the xcal, it showed 9 files (despite only doing 3 tests ever), and all of them were blank except for the first one, which showed only 500 seconds, which wasn't the length of my last test, in fact it was the length of my first test.
None of the other tests were legitimate files, so I couldn't see the last two tests I did. Am I missing something?

PSUrivie 03-21-2011 10:00 PM

Are you logging using your XCAL and then downloading to your computer?

MacAttack 03-21-2011 10:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PSUrivie (Post 3602225)
Are you logging using your XCAL and then downloading to your computer?

Well that's what I was trying to do.

PSUrivie 03-21-2011 10:35 PM

Instead of that, hook your XCAL to the car and also to your laptop and datalog using Livelink.

MacAttack 03-22-2011 06:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PSUrivie (Post 3602270)
Instead of that, hook your XCAL to the car and also to your laptop and datalog using Livelink.

Not a fan of that idea. Laptops aren't exactly cheap enough to just sit on the passenger seat. I'd really just like to get it to work this way.

1turbofocus 03-22-2011 07:40 AM

It sounds like your doing it right , I would give SCT a call for help , have everything ready and hooked up when you call

Tom

Blivit 03-22-2011 09:07 AM

Datalogging on the X3 itself only uses one file, the first one. Each time you record a log it overwrites the file. So, if you are trying to record multiple sessions, you will need to record then pull the file off before doing the next one.

Once you import, press the max button at the top to see the entire log.

MacAttack 03-22-2011 09:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blivit (Post 3602600)
Datalogging on the X3 itself only uses one file, the first one. Each time you record a log it overwrites the file. So, if you are trying to record multiple sessions, you will need to record then pull the file off before doing the next one.

Once you import, press the max button at the top to see the entire log.

Okay that makes sense. What are the other files for though? (Just curious).

Blivit 03-22-2011 11:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MacAttack (Post 3602603)
Okay that makes sense. What are the other files for though? (Just curious).

The livewire and TSX use multiple files; livelink is just using the same dialog box for every device.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp