Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Focus Tuning Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   Xcal3 Questions (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=247960)

raptordrew 01-08-2011 08:55 PM

Xcal3 Questions
 
So after reading through the forums (and on some other forums), I've come up with a few questions I wanted to ask before I drop $400 on one...

1) Does the tuner need to stay hooked up to the car? I was on another (less informative) forum for Tauruses (wife's car), and they kind of made it sound like you had to keep the tuner hooked up for some reason.

2) Can I not use one tuner with multiple cars? I.e., once I flash my Focus, can I use it on my wife's Taurus? I'm guessing this one's a no, from what I've read, you have to send it back in for an ECU code change whenever you want to use with another car. If you ARE able to, do you have to revert the tune on the first car before tuning a second?

3) Do I need to revert to OEM flash before doing emissions? I'm in Atlanta; car will have very few NA mods, so it's mostly a tune to improve MPG and driveability.

Thanks in advance!

captcomputer 01-09-2011 02:19 AM

1) No you do not need to leave it hooked up to the car.

2)Diablo has a model that will but the SCT will not.

3)No your applied tune will be fine for an emissions test. You can go back to stock at any time, but wont be necessary.

raptordrew 01-09-2011 02:29 AM

Thanks for the response. How's the Diablo unit? Haven't really seen anything on the threads here...

Edit: Nevermind, according to their site there doesn't appear to be a Duratec Focus unit...

FocusedSlayer 01-09-2011 10:51 AM

The Xcal 3 is a good flasher for the Focus , I've used mine several times to pinpoint trouble codes along with putting in my updated tunes .


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.