Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Autocross Racing (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   H Stock set-up. Noob questions. (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=244298)

Greasyman 11-11-2010 10:00 PM

H Stock set-up. Noob questions.

I haven't even bought an SVT yet, but there's one I have my eye on. I might have it soon enough to run it Sunday in a local street tire class in H-stock. Should I run with or without a front sway? More pressure in the rear tires than the front? Anything else?

I'm not a beginner at autocross, I have an SSM Miata I've been running for a couple of years, but if I get the SVT I'll be interested in running it, just to see what it'll do.

wrc_fan 11-12-2010 07:15 AM

If its an SVT w/o all the options, I'd say go for it. Set up is a good question, especially the sway bar. It may come down to testing to figure out the best configuration. Course dependency may have a say in this too.

In my focus with street tires, I would run 5psi higher in the front. With Rcomps, I am usually 2psi or less higher in the front.

When you buy tires, take a close look at gearing. General comments on the SVT is that it is geared tall, so a small tire with a bit of stretch may be the way to go. Again course dependancy here.

I think that an SVT with good dampers in H stock would be a blast to drive, makes me kind of want to go look for one.

Paladin 11-13-2010 04:30 AM

find some stock 16" wheels off of a zx3. they are a bit lighter. also pick up a summer tire liek the dunlop direzza 101's a set of starspecs might give it away as cheating a bit,lol.
besidses you'll never really get up enough heat to warrant using star specs on most small courses. ive had no grip issues with my direzza 101's on my stock svt wheels.