Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Focus Tuning Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   tuning?'s (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=231861)

zinsavage123 05-16-2010 06:44 PM

tuning?'s
 
I see you guys and tom suggest an aem a/f wideband. But even with boltons like headers and intakes it is needed like right away? cause tom and others say it is and could harm the engine if not soon after some mods? now I wanna know how can a retune from tom fix if its bad and how will I know when I get the gauge if I need an update to put the a/f where it needs to be? he says you can datalog but how plug it in datalog and send him the email/results?

1turbofocus 05-16-2010 08:27 PM

When you get the wide band and tune I give you instructions with what to do , what AF not to go over and a list to datalog so I can send you proper tunes that are safe

Tom

aTm Beaner 05-17-2010 09:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zinsavage123 (Post 3281476)
I see you guys and tom suggest an aem a/f wideband. But even with boltons like headers and intakes it is needed like right away? cause tom and others say it is and could harm the engine if not soon after some mods? now I wanna know how can a retune from tom fix if its bad and how will I know when I get the gauge if I need an update to put the a/f where it needs to be? he says you can datalog but how plug it in datalog and send him the email/results?

the tune is going to affect the overall driveablility with the car. i'd recommend you get your car dyno'd using the AF ratio numbers. that way, you can see how lean you are running. FSWerks did my tune and I'm very happy with them. There are many people that have had FSWerks tunes that were spot on without the need for a wideband. A wideband will help you over all. I plan on getting one when I get my Cossie IM. You can also adjust your flasher settings to make your car run rich or lean as well. I only recommend doing this on the dyno while it's reading your AF ratio.

1turbofocus 05-17-2010 11:41 AM

EVERYONE that mods there car from stock needs a wide band to make sure there engine is safe

To say there car is "safe" with out a wide band and a tune has no clue what hees talking about , NO ONE with a tune knows there tune/engine is "spot on" with out using a wide band AF gauge , how fs does it is up to them , Focus-Power wants there customers to get the safest and best tune there paying for and only a wide band is going to guarantee that

Tom

YellowJellyBean 05-17-2010 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zinsavage123 (Post 3281476)
he says you can datalog but how plug it in datalog and send him the email/results?

There's a stickied thread on how to use the XCal3 with an AEM wideband.

aTm Beaner 05-17-2010 03:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1turbofocus (Post 3282361)
EVERYONE that mods there car from stock needs a wide band to make sure there engine is safe

To say there car is "safe" with out a wide band and a tune has no clue what hees talking about , NO ONE with a tune knows there tune/engine is "spot on" with out using a wide band AF gauge , how fs does it is up to them , Focus-Power wants there customers to get the safest and best tune there paying for and only a wide band is going to guarantee that

Tom

how many duratec engines have you dealt with where there was engine damage because of an intake and exhaust? the reason I ask is because you make it seem that someone's engine is going to blow up just because they don't have a flasher with a wideband.

1turbofocus 05-17-2010 07:31 PM

I have built about 11 and seen many more then that with boltons and engine failure

You use the tuner you want and play by his rules , tuned RIGHT is having a wide band so you KNOW your tune is adjusted correctly

Whats SOME tuners like to do is set them way to the rich side loosing power but the engine is safe , is that what you want to pay for ? If so your in good hands , if you want it righ then get a wide band and make sure your safe and getting all you can from the money you paid for your tune

Have you even sent your tuner a log yet of idle , cruise , WOT ?????

Tom

ford_boy 05-17-2010 07:55 PM

I agree that a wideband is very important. But I wouldn't say it a necessity when doing minor upgrades like intake and exhaust.

I'm sure that the Mass Air setup that these cars come with is quite capable of metering the tiny bit of extra airflow you are going to gain from common simple mods.

You can also tie a cheap narrowband guage into your stock o2 sensor. These aern't really any good for tuning but it'll tell you if your on the lean or rich side of stoch. So long as it stays lit up all the way green when you got the hammer down. If you get any hint of it going lean then let off and figure out why.

horsePOOGAS 05-17-2010 08:22 PM

having a wideband lets you know for a FACT your tune is dead on. its a great gauge to have so you know how your engine is running.

Its a good investment for just that AND if you ever thought of going FI in the future...well you would already have one.

Is it necessary for bolt on's? I never had one... Necessary for tunes? Talk to anyone who does any real work on their cars.

and this is just all MO.

YellowJellyBean 05-17-2010 08:35 PM

I think people should look into the fact that Tom isn't insisting that people buy a wide band from him, and it's not his car. He has no personal reason to insist that you get a wide band, yet he still insists. Yes, they cost a bit of money, and they're not just simple plug and play like some mods. However, I'm gonna listen to the guy that's been doing this for years and trust his expertise. I want to know what's going on with my A/F ratio, because I don't want something bad to happen and have no idea why.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp