Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Focus-Power Tuning (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=72)
-   -   Tom's the Man for tuning the Focus (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=231101)

FocusedSlayer 05-06-2010 01:34 AM

Tom's the Man for tuning the Focus
 
Over the past weekend I finally got around to installing my Glowshift Pillar Pod , Voltage gauge along with the AEM A/F wideband that Tom suggested .


After installing the Wideband , Didn't think much about it and started driving for a photo shoot . CEL came on . Checked it with my X Cal 3 and it was still recognizing my 3 rd 02 sensor .

Drove home , shot Tom an E mail that evening and the next evening had my update waiting on me after work.

Done the steps that he recommended , Return car back to stock , update Xcal 3 , download an add his update to the tuner .

And then took around 20 minutes to Upload the update to the ECU and now I have no CEL and car runs like a scalded dog .

Props to Tom all around for his expertise in the Focus tuning .


Thanks Tom, for all your valuable information and tunes . [thumb]

SuburbanZ 05-12-2010 01:18 PM

Can I ask what AEM broadband you went with? Model # and how easy was the install? Also, where did you get it?

Rafal 05-12-2010 01:28 PM

Glowshift that is my choice to Im getting Tach and Air Fuel.

focusmaniaczx3 05-12-2010 01:46 PM

they are very easy to install. i about as good with wiring as M. Jackson (R.I.P.) was with kids. and by that i mean i will almost always manage to eff it up somehow lol. all you do is screw in the o2 sensor and run the harness all the way back to the interior. plug in the harness to the back of the gauge and wire the gauge up to the fuse for your cigarette lighter. and then ground the other wire. the other 2 extra wires wire for your analog input for datalogging.

SuburbanZ 05-12-2010 03:36 PM

Cool, that sounds really basic.

focusmaniaczx3 05-12-2010 04:17 PM

it is. i was very surprised at just how easy it was to install the wideband.

focuztyle 05-14-2010 06:08 PM

Tom is the man!!
He has helped me many times over the phone with whatever I manage to mess up on it! lol
Rich

FocusedSlayer 05-23-2010 07:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SuburbanZ (Post 3276683)
Can I ask what AEM broadband you went with? Model # and how easy was the install? Also, where did you get it?


The Wideband that I got was an AEM from C-F-M.com



http://focus.c-f-m.com/saleaem2116in...ithsensor.aspx

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rafal (Post 3276695)
Glowshift that is my choice to Im getting Tach and Air Fuel.


This what I got from Glowshift.com


http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/00---...illar-pod.aspx


This voltage gauge
http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/red-d...t-gauge-1.aspx

insaneaudio 05-26-2010 12:57 AM

Can you post a pic of your pod installed? I am looking at getting the same setup.

FocusedSlayer 05-26-2010 08:23 AM

Sure thing , here you go

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/5...c0048oc.th.jpg


I did this mock setup just to see how close it was to the factory paint job while I was painting it .

http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/3921/dsc0024y.th.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp