Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Burnt headlight sockets (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=230170)

kputer 04-25-2010 12:47 PM

Burnt headlight sockets

I went to replace the headlights on my '02 and both sockets are badly burnt and the new bulbs barely fit in. A week later the left side melted further and now that bulb is dim and won't stay put. I've been searching and haven't really found any others complaining about this problem. I'm new to the Focus, love it, but I'm really surprised by this headlight problem.

Is this because the previous owner didn't install the new bulbs correctly or do these plastic housing just melt down like this? I'll have to call around the bone yards and try to chase up some replacement headlight assy.

Any suggestions on avoiding this in the future?
Thanks for the help.

egman2005 04-25-2010 12:51 PM

someone put in higher the reccomended watt bulbs

they wires over heated as a result

kputer 04-25-2010 12:55 PM

I didn't notice what the bulbs were I took out. That may be the cause. I have the standard 9003 now. So, it shouldn't do this?

egman2005 04-25-2010 12:58 PM

nope shouldnt do it now.

kbrownfocus 05-12-2010 09:28 PM