Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Focus Tuning Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   Tuning my Duratec 05 (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=211614)

FocusGreg 09-20-2009 08:53 AM

Tuning my Duratec 05
 
I would love to buy a tuning kit for my car. Any suggestions on what to buy and what programing would be best? How abouts to increase my hp.

bluefront 09-20-2009 09:11 AM

AFAIC.....Buying an expensive "tune" for an almost stock car, is a total waste, unless you intend to do engine mods. And I'm not talking about a CAI or a SRI by itself. I doubt you'd gain anything at all, except a very minor difference in the numbers off a dyno.......if that.

You can probably add to that a custom exhaust. So what's left to require a tune? Maybe a fancy Cosworth intake, different cams, and a Turbo for sure. The OEM Ford "tune" will compensate for many changes you make, by itself. That's what the MAFS, O2 sensors, and god knows what else....is doing without any outside "tune".

My 2c.....

pistolgripbmx 09-20-2009 10:44 AM

IF you buy a tune from turbo tom, he will update it as long as you stay NA.

I have intake, header, and exhaust and felt a nice improvement with his tune, not so much a power improvement but just the way the car drives is much nicer, the power band feels more "smooth".

kenzx3 09-20-2009 06:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pistolgripbmx (Post 2935209)
IF you buy a tune from turbo tom, he will update it as long as you stay NA.

X2, well worth the money compared to what FS charges. FS will charge you an option price for turning off a rear O2 which in my mind is kinda dumb to charge for that [scratch]

FocusGreg 09-22-2009 09:37 AM

well i have a intake for now, the sensor keeps throwing an engine code. i have to re mod the intake first to see if will help. If it does not, would a tuner help that out? If it does work, yeah for me. Im just try to make my car a bit smoother ride and sound great. What would be a good step to take then after intake install?

kenzx3 09-22-2009 01:36 PM

Did you reset the ECU after installing the intake?

lucrative75 10-13-2009 03:36 PM

hey.... how do you reset the ecu?

roosterst 10-13-2009 03:48 PM

Disconnect the battery.

lucrative75 10-13-2009 04:51 PM

how long would you disconnect the battery?

Army19kSVT 10-13-2009 05:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lucrative75 (Post 2969500)
how long would you disconnect the battery?

4-5 minutes


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp