Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Forced Induction (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   How-To Datalog Wideband On XCAL 3 (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=177202)

Wagamos 10-24-2008 01:09 PM

How-To Datalog Wideband On XCAL 3
 
This is a how to for wiring your Wideband so that you can datalog with an Xcal3 and then how to setup your datalog file. I did this with my Innovate LC-1 wideband. Should be similar with any wideband, just different color wires for your wideband sensor. You can look in your wideband manual for the diagram for that.

Tools:

Wire Strippers
Soldering Iron
Solder
Heatshrink (optional)
Electrical tape
Terminal Connector
Lighter (only if you are going to use heatshrink)

Other things:

Xcal 3
6-pin Firewire cable (mine was 6 ft which is more than enough)
Pin chart that SCT's firewire cable comes with. It also worked from the one that I got from the computer supply store. If your colors are different then you will have to pin out your cable.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...l/PinChart.png


Lets begin!

WIRING WIDEBAND AND FIREWIRE TOGETHER

Step 1: Cut one end of the firewire off and strip enough of the outer wire off so that you can work with it. This is what you will see.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...l/100_1304.jpg


Step 2: Separate the wires so that you have the two input wire bundles available. Then strip the ends of all the wires except for the 5v (white) and the input 2 (red). Take the black, green, and blue wires and pull them to the side, these are your three ground wires for the firewire. You will later connect these with the ground wires from the wideband sensor.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...l/100_1305.jpg
http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...l/100_1306.jpg


(Optional Step): Put a piece of heatshrink tube over the analog output 2 wire (brown).

Step 3: Solder the Analog output 2 wire (brown) from the wideband to the analog input 1 wire (orange) from the firewire. Then place the heatshrink over the exposed wire and use the lighter to shrink it to fit the wire. Also fold the white and red wires over and use electrical tape to cover the ends.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...l/100_1307.jpg

Step 4: Take your terminal connector and the 5 ground wires and solder them together in the terminal connector. Should be the 3 firewire grounds black, green, and blue. Should also be the 2 wideband grounds white and blue.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...l/100_1344.jpg

Step 5: Find a spot to ground your wires and bolt them down tight. This is what I used but I do have all my wires located inside the car.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...l/100_1348.jpg


SETTING UP DATALOG FILE IN THE XCAL 3

Step 1: Power up the Xcal 3.

Step 2: Go to Datalogging and Setup datalog.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...xcal/setup.jpg

Step 3: Hit select to Overwrite previous configuration. Then choose the gasoline.dlf file.

Step 4: Scroll down to the bottom and you will see AIN 1, select it and then select wideband. Choose any other choices that you want to datalog as well, then hit cancel. You will be presented with a screen to choose your analog 1 input. Choose wideband. Then select your wideband (mine was LC-1). Then save your file. Thats it for setting up the datalog file.

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...-xcal/AIN1.jpg

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...l/wideband.jpg

http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/...d-xcal/lc1.jpg

Roushturboedzx3 10-25-2008 08:49 AM

Hey Someone needs to sticky this i just did it and it works. this needs to be stickied to help everyone else out

Wagamos 10-25-2008 06:25 PM

Glad to hear it worked for you to! What wideband are you using?

It took me a little while to get it all working. I talked to Mike Rogers at SCT and he hooked me up with wiring diagrams and answered all my questions.

Roushturboedzx3 10-25-2008 09:20 PM

I have a aem wideband

Damage 11-04-2008 11:48 AM

Thanks for the how-to. It was very good. I also have the LC-1....the only difference is I had to use the analog 2 to log it in the xcal3, I did wire it up as per your instructions. Maybe our firewire was slightly different. Not a big deal. Thanks again.

hardSVT 06-14-2009 06:45 PM

whats the differance between 6-pin Firewire cable and a din9 cable?

pitchedblack04 06-14-2009 08:47 PM

I also have an AEM wideband and will be referring to this when i need to datalog. Hey roush what wires did you use off the aem so ppl can refer to this if they have the AEM?


Deff needs to be stickied...

Wagamos 06-15-2009 12:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hardSVT (Post 2794392)
whats the differance between 6-pin Firewire cable and a din9 cable?

Different cables. The ends are different too. You would have to get a pin out chart and figure out which wire is which for that.

hardSVT 06-15-2009 12:37 AM

whats a pin out chart?

pitchedblack04 06-15-2009 06:22 AM

im guessin its like a wiring diagram of how the pins are layed out so you know which one is which.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.