Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK2 Interior Mods & Upgrades (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=122)
-   -   Interior LED's & Wiring?? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=164692)

RideRed0331 06-27-2008 03:34 PM

Interior LED's & Wiring??
 
Has anyone added LED's to their interior??

I want to add a few for a cool blue glow that matches my new Pioneer Headunit. Is there a way to run the LED's directly to the battery in a single circuit, and run an on/off switch that I can mount on the dash somewhere? Or is that just an overall bad electronic idea?

I was thinking of putting single LED's in the vents, but pointing sideways so I dont get too much light...

Rabbitccc 06-27-2008 03:36 PM

I believe there's a how-to in the how-to section. I could be wrong.

RideRed0331 06-27-2008 03:42 PM

EDIT: I found it!! My only question is what would be the best way to route all the wires to the battery??...

Sn4ckM4st3r 06-27-2008 06:29 PM

There are a few ways to do this. Routing to the battery can be tiresome and used mostly for a larger application. Most run of the cig lighter for power. OR if you want to do what i did. Run the power off the radio. Already fused and ease of location. I ran it that way all 3 years i have done glow and never had an issue. just ground everything and your good. this will save on clean wiring as well as time and frustration. And seeing how you have an Aftermarket radio it makes it WAY easier.

RideRed0331 06-27-2008 06:45 PM

AWESOME IDEA!!!

So then you just ran everything on a single line of like 18 guage wire or so and connected to the radio power and ground? That's such a time saver. Thanks, Reps for you!

Sn4ckM4st3r 06-27-2008 06:52 PM

^^ You should be good with some 18 run to it and then just ground everything and enjoy the lights. Get pics for sure and thanks for the rep. Anymore questions concerning lighting of any sort let me know.

RideRed0331 06-28-2008 07:48 AM

Will do!! Thanks again!!

Viper90 06-28-2008 09:09 AM

You do have a third option too. You can but a add a circuit at autozone or a store of the like for 5 bucks. No cutting wires that are already there. I just plugged mine into the cigarette lighter fuse for constant power and wired them up.

joshfink 06-28-2008 09:57 AM

my Leds are blue as well... However I wired the power to my remote starter so I couldn't accidentally leave the lights on at night with a switch on the dash... One piece of advice if you put leds in your vents... use chrome paint... looks better than tin foil all stuffed in there... Just my own advice there

RideRed0331 06-28-2008 10:40 AM

Yeah that's what I was planning on doing. The chrome paint shows up pretty well on the black plastic right away, or do I need a bunch of coats??


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp