Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Custom Double DIN for LCD (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=14425)

wholesale37 05-17-2004 01:55 AM

Custom Double DIN for LCD
 
I am getting into an idea for a job, what i need to know is if the stock focus radio is a double din, or just an enlarged single. I remember seeing a din install kit for a focus that could only fin one unit. What i want to do is install a double DIN in order to install a head unit and indash monitor. Is this possible, can the focus take a double din, is there enough clearance, where can i find a din kit, any info would help, thankyou -jay

midnight53mv 05-17-2004 09:22 AM

one word.....dremel

wholesale37 05-17-2004 11:03 AM

i knew i could use a dremel, but is there enough cleareance, and i woulds still need a double din kit, where could i get one, that would match up to a fcous? or should i just put a din in for a focus and just extend the pocket at the bottom?

S2 05-17-2004 11:05 AM

You can buy HU mounting kits all over the place. Just check with your local stereo shop, if they don't have it, they can get it. I have seen them all over the place. I think it's a 1-1/2 DIN size HU for the focus but don't quote me on that. If that is the case, you might have to go get a double DIN mounting kit and do some custom work to get it to fit.....

wholesale37 05-17-2004 11:55 AM

i thotught that at first as well, just get a drememl and a double din, and go to work to make it fit. has anybody done a project like this? Anybody with more insight would be great, thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp