Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Forced Induction (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   turbo question 2 (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=122111)

Piinkhandcuffss 05-17-2007 05:43 PM

turbo question 2
 
before i ask the question please close my other turbo questions and any other questions on here. ok now for the question if i set my piping up for blow threw do i still need to have a 3" housing for my maf like i was told to do by tom i'm using stock maf with mafia my piping is 2.5 from fmic to tb ok anouther question only way i can do blow threw is if i move my bov closer
to my fmic dose it matter where the bov is on the charge side as long as its there i was told to keep the bov at least 8 inches away from the maf
so with my piping id have to move the bov closer to my fmic right beforew it
comes up past the battery also with it bing down there would it sound different or be wird i'm used to mine bing up by tb dont want it to look dumb
either lol thank u

Turbo Turtle 05-17-2007 09:25 PM

it should be fine to put it in a 2.5" maf housing as long as you have the tune changed. mine is in a 2.5" housing. it also shouldnt matter where your bov is located in the piping. as long as you have the maf in the straightest part of the pipe you can get. i wish you could get some pics of this thing, lol. here is a pick of mine may be it will help. my bov is between the part before the maf and after the intercooler. it is basically right behind the passenger light.
http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s...3/100_0931.jpg

Piinkhandcuffss 05-17-2007 09:32 PM

lol i wish i could give up pics ok it kinda runs like the aem cold air intake same route

Piinkhandcuffss 05-17-2007 09:49 PM

also i think its really close to the guide kit my old turbo kit ran the same way this one dose but best i can explain it it runs like the aem cai i could put the bov right on the stright pice where it bends up to go by battery if it fits then put the maf where the bov is now just need to find someone who can do the cutting and welding with out messing anything up

Turbo Turtle 05-17-2007 09:55 PM

well if it is like a cai then it should be pretty easy to put both of them in there. just put the maf where this one is and put the bov in one of these places, lol. idk, its kinda hard to tell just guessing. lol
http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s...72HPIM0032.jpg
mine was put in like this...
http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s...00_03962-1.jpg

Piinkhandcuffss 05-17-2007 10:00 PM

can i find just the flanges for a ford maf i dont wanna use a lot of couplers

Piinkhandcuffss 05-17-2007 10:01 PM

lol just trade me set ups :)

Piinkhandcuffss 05-17-2007 10:02 PM

lol its sad but the first elbow where u have the top circle its the elbow from the aem intake

Turbo Turtle 05-17-2007 10:04 PM

i used the maf housing off my ebay cai. it was like 25 bucks so i didnt care at all to hack it up. and i only used 1 coupler because it makes things so much easier to work on. just tig welded the rest. i dont know about just getting the flange part though. i guess you could just cut if off the pipe if you got one. lol

Turbo Turtle 05-17-2007 10:06 PM

yeah that was my ebay cai before the turbo and i cut it all to pieces using the piping for stuff, lol and nope cant trade ya i like my set up too much :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.