Change odometer to miles from kilometers - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 01:27 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61271
Location: halifax, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 focus se sedan

Posts: 53
Points 842, Level 15
Points: 842, Level: 15 Points: 842, Level: 15 Points: 842, Level: 15
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 kbg1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Change odometer to miles from kilometers

hi
i am going to the usa for 4 months,is there anyway to set my odometer to read miles instead of kilometers?the speedo has both not worried about that.
i am going for the transmission update and wiper motor inspection next tuesday,is this something i can do or should i get the dealer to do it before i go?
i looked thru the manual and searched the forum but did not find anything?
thanks


kbg1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2013, 02:26 PM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97923
Location: west jordan, UT
What I Drive: 02 sonic blue svt

Posts: 84
FF Reputation: 1 defiant_one Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
the dealer cannot change the odo to and from they would have to replace the entire cluster
defiant_one is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 02:28 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Fan#: 76504
Location: edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2007 blue sedan

Posts: 96
FF Reputation: 1 mildc3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
thats illegal period, unless you go thru a shitload of paperwork im guessing
mildc3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 02:42 PM   #4
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96372
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: My sister's car while it is salty

Posts: 222
FF Reputation: 1 ralck Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I think what the OP is asking is simply about switching the display of the odometer. I believe that is possible, at least with the higher trims.

Kbg1, if you have the 4" color screen in your gauge cluster, use the left steering wheel controls to go into the settings. I'm pretty sure there is an option to change to miles there, just like you can change between F and C for temp. If you have the lower trim, I'm not sure if it is possible.
__________________
2013 SE Hatch, 201A, Moonroof, Winter package, Blue Candy, 5MT ├┼┘
ralck is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 02:54 PM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
MetalMuffins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107135
Location: Saint John, NB, Canada
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black Focus SE Hatch

Posts: 509
Points 676, Level 13
Points: 676, Level: 13 Points: 676, Level: 13 Points: 676, Level: 13
Level Up 52% Completed
Level up: 52% Level up: 52% Level up: 52%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 MetalMuffins Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralck View Post
I think what the OP is asking is simply about switching the display of the odometer. I believe that is possible, at least with the higher trims.

Kbg1, if you have the 4" color screen in your gauge cluster, use the left steering wheel controls to go into the settings. I'm pretty sure there is an option to change to miles there, just like you can change between F and C for temp. If you have the lower trim, I'm not sure if it is possible.
Correct, you can change it in the display settings easily. This also changes your L/100KM to MPG, which I do from time to time.
__________________
2013 HB MTX, Tux Black w/ Black Pack - Steeda RSB, Snorkel DLT, K&N Drop in, E-Focus RMM, Redline Tuning Hood Struts, Custom Al. Skid-plate, 180 Stat, Custom SCT Tune by Tom @ Focus-Power
MetalMuffins is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 03:03 PM   #6
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 13,388
Points 10,920, Level 69
Points: 10,920, Level: 69 Points: 10,920, Level: 69 Points: 10,920, Level: 69
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 30 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by defiant_one View Post
the dealer cannot change the odo to and from they would have to replace the entire cluster
Quote:
Originally Posted by mildc3 View Post
thats illegal period, unless you go thru a shitload of paperwork im guessing
You're not physically altering the odometer in any way on the 2012 to convert from one set of units being displayed to the other.

The odometer is digital and stored within the vehicle's computer.

Therefore it would not be illegal to switch from a metric to imperial odometer reading as there is no hardware or rolling odometer to change and therefore no paperwork to file.

The car already is converting most unit measurements from metric to imperial on the fly for the US models.

This is the 2012+ models we are talking about, not a 2002 or something.

It should be a simple switch in software if you have the 4.2" ip cluster display.

It would convert from Miles/ Gallons / degrees F to L/100km/Liters / kilometers and degrees C all at the same time basically.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 04:37 PM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61271
Location: halifax, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 focus se sedan

Posts: 53
Points 842, Level 15
Points: 842, Level: 15 Points: 842, Level: 15 Points: 842, Level: 15
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 kbg1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Red face

nothing illegal, just want the dic to read miles/gals instead of litres and kilometers while in the us.
our astra had a setting in its dic to change from metric to english.
the odo plus the dic switched to english for mileage,trip,degrees and fuel economy.
we have an se with the smaller dic without the car icon and the transmission gears are on the top of it.
hope that clarifies it better.
kbg1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 04:42 PM   #8
Sonic's Mk3 Crew #17
 
Twenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90312
Location: Calgary, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 YB SE sedan w/ ST exterior

Posts: 4,578
Points 24,116, Level 94
Points: 24,116, Level: 94 Points: 24,116, Level: 94 Points: 24,116, Level: 94
Level Up 77% Completed
Level up: 77% Level up: 77% Level up: 77%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 10 Twenty Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I set my cluster to imperial, to have miles per gallon instead of L/100km. BUT, the odometer is still in kilometers. I want it that way (km), but I haven't checked for a separate setting to change that.
__________________
officialTHREETWENTY
2012 YB Focus SE Sedan [featured in Performance Ford, Sept '14]
1992 BW Grand Prix SE Sedan [restomod project]
SR#74/SMk3C#17/YBOC#03
Bill M.
Twenty is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 06:25 PM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61271
Location: halifax, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 focus se sedan

Posts: 53
Points 842, Level 15
Points: 842, Level: 15 Points: 842, Level: 15 Points: 842, Level: 15
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 kbg1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
found it under settings/distance units and temp units.
it does what i wanted and does not affect the odo which stays in kilometers.

thanks for the input all
kbg1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2013, 07:40 PM   #10
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 49023
Location: Milton Ontario Canada, United States
What I Drive: 2013 Focus TI White Platinum

Posts: 57
Points 50, Level 1
Points: 50, Level: 1 Points: 50, Level: 1 Points: 50, Level: 1
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 focus wht Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When you go into settings and change from metric to english or visa versa it changes all units , odometer , temperature. thats how it works.
focus wht is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1