Focus Fanatics Forum banner

Hoping to buy a 2012 SE this weekend, any advice?

3K views 14 replies 10 participants last post by  Cam2012SE 
#1 ·
Hello all,

This is my first time here, but I've been stalking a whole lot. I've really come to love the new Focus, and I have my heart set on a 2012 SE with the sports package. I've had my eyes peeled online for dealers selling it in black with a 5spd (which would be my first 5sp too). The only thing that troubles me with this car is that it's got 40,000 miles.

Any advice when I stroll on the lot this weekend? [:)]

#2 ·
Moved to : MK3 Chat, you will get more responses here.

Since your looking at a 5spd there really isnt too much to be looking at. Look at like like a normal used car. take it for an extended test drive if possible and listen for possible rattles and squeaks. The 5spd is tried and true. and should be nice and smooth even with 40k on the clock.

#3 ·
I just picked up a 2012 Focus SE Hatchback, Sterling Grey, Automatic. It has 34k miles on it. I was a little concerned at the higher mileage for a car around 2 years old, but after the test drive, I was satisfied. I kind of wish I had held out for a manual, but I had a time limit on purchasing a "new" car. Other than that, like SkyPilot said, just look for the usual suspects and don't let them talk you into anything you're unsure about.

#4 ·
It looks like the 2012 carries a factory 5 yr, 60,000 mi. warranty. If so, it will give you piece of mind. I'm sure it's easily transferable.

http://www.motortrend.com/cars/2012/ford/focus/warranty/

Check around for the new '13's also, depending on what your price is on the '12. It should be possible to snag a '13 SE manual sedan for about15K or less after incentives (depending on location and dealership) and they have more standard equipment, maybe better (new car) financing. Follow up on the loss leader ads, look up dealer inventory on line. Good luck![8)]

#5 ·