I'm annoyed ... (SYNC dead again) - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2012, 05:44 PM   #11
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,878
Points 1,565, Level 22
Points: 1,565, Level: 22 Points: 1,565, Level: 22 Points: 1,565, Level: 22
Level Up 65% Completed
Level up: 65% Level up: 65% Level up: 65%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raceredrudy View Post
I got to the fuses , and I found the right fuse (although I couldn't make out the "67" on it but I determined via owners guide it was the right one) under the glove box ---

Unfortunately I don't know much about car stuff and I have no idea how to remove a fuse or how to disconnect the battery ... Heck I couldn't even find the - !!!

I'm sending you a PM now FordTeam !
No worries Raceredrudy! If you are uncomfortable with any of it by all means take it to the dealership. That is what warranties are for.

If you still want to try the fuse route, there is a little red fuse puller clipped in under the cover of the fuse box under the hood. Use it to pull the fuse(s), wait about 10-15 minutes (that should be more than sufficient), and pop them back in.

Best of luck and report back (whichever route you choose to go) with the results/resolution.
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2012, 06:17 PM   #12
Focus Addict
 
Zillon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 17393
Location: Philthadelphia, PA
What I Drive: '13 JCW GP

Posts: 1,388
Points 2,504, Level 30
Points: 2,504, Level: 30 Points: 2,504, Level: 30 Points: 2,504, Level: 30
Level Up 36% Completed
Level up: 36% Level up: 36% Level up: 36%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 27 Zillon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
After a month of fighting with my car to play music from my 1G iPod Touch, and multiple resets, I gave up and switched to my old iPod Nano instead, as a test. I had the same problem - Sync would lock up and freeze, or not work at all when trying to play music from my iTouch.

For some reason, the Nano gave me no issues whatsoever. The iTouch (and perhaps the iPad) might have some compatiblity issues due to iOS. I've since sent in my old Nano to Apple for a free replacement (battery meltdown risk), and the new Nano has been awesome.
__________________
Joined the dark side.
Zillon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2012, 10:18 AM   #13
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85671
Location: Atlanta, GA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL hatch

Posts: 201
Points 2,615, Level 31
Points: 2,615, Level: 31 Points: 2,615, Level: 31 Points: 2,615, Level: 31
Level Up 10% Completed
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 silenthill Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I bought an additional fuse puller at the auto parts store just to use for pulling the Sync fuse. I need to do this about once a month...
silenthill is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2012, 09:45 AM   #14
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 93061
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Race Red SEL HATCH

Posts: 73
FF Reputation: 1 Raceredrudy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Going to do the fuse pull. The car doesn't have to be on does it ?
Raceredrudy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2012, 09:46 AM   #15
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 93061
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Race Red SEL HATCH

Posts: 73
FF Reputation: 1 Raceredrudy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
And while I see fuse #67(or 69 whichever it is) for some reason it doesn't say the # on it (or at least clearly) I know it's the right fuse because of the owners manual/location ...
Raceredrudy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2012, 11:16 AM   #16
Ford Fiend
 
TboneZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90494
Location: Jackson, MO
What I Drive: '01 ZX3, '12 SE Sport

Posts: 2,492
Points 1,679, Level 23
Points: 1,679, Level: 23 Points: 1,679, Level: 23 Points: 1,679, Level: 23
Level Up 79% Completed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Forum Activity 80%
Activity: 80% Activity: 80% Activity: 80%
FF Reputation: 12 TboneZX3 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The only number that will be on the fuse is the amp rating. You have to go by the manual or the diagram on the lid to find the right fuse.
__________________
HN #90
Mk3 |╠╬╝|SGM|203a|Moonroof|17" Paint/Mach Whls|K&N 57S-4000 -snorkel|FFE RMM|Steeda STB, RSB|JBR bushings
Mk1|╠╬╝|Pitch Blk|Prem pkg|Moonroof|SVT Snorkel|SVT Susp|Steeda STS|Z-Eng RMM|Magnaflow exh
TboneZX3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2012, 11:27 AM   #17
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 95912
Location: So Cal, CA
What I Drive: '12 Sterling Gray Ti 5D DCT THP

Posts: 82
Points 161, Level 3
Points: 161, Level: 3 Points: 161, Level: 3 Points: 161, Level: 3
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 SpinKix Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Have you tried the Delayed Reboot App?
http://outofmytouch.com/reboot.html

Every time my MFT starts acting up, I use this app, and things clear up for a while at least. I keep the file on a cheap flash drive stored in my owner's manual pouch.

Nice thing about this app is it doesn't wipe your settings. It just forces a "Scheduled System Maintenance".

I haven't had to pull fuses since I bought the car 6 months ago.
SpinKix is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2012, 01:04 PM   #18
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 93061
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Race Red SEL HATCH

Posts: 73
FF Reputation: 1 Raceredrudy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Fuse pull worked !!!

Thans guys
Raceredrudy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2012, 01:10 PM   #19
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 1,072
Points 2,312, Level 29
Points: 2,312, Level: 29 Points: 2,312, Level: 29 Points: 2,312, Level: 29
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post
I bought an additional fuse puller at the auto parts store just to use for pulling the Sync fuse. I need to do this about once a month...
Hi, silenthil -

What's prompting you to pull the fuse? Which software version are you on? PM some details.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raceredrudy View Post
Fuse pull worked !!!

Thans guys
Glad to hear it, Raceredrudy! Keep in mind for future SYNC-related questions.

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1