Focus Fanatics Forum banner

Ice scraper scratching windshield??

55K views 30 replies 20 participants last post by  trevoracus 
#1 ·
Has anyone here experienced this? I had to use an icescraper to get heavy frost off my window yesterday morning, today being a sunny day I noticed scratches all over my windshield. I've been scraping windows every winter for the past 20 years on all types of vehicles, and have never seen this. What is Ford putting on / or not putting on their windshields now? I don't want to have to buy a new windshield every spring, and I know insurance won't cover it. Maybe we need to have winter windshields and summer windshields, and just swap them out seasonally with our tires? I don't think it is acceptable to have to wait for the window to defrost on its own!

#2 ·
Oh man that sucks, thanks for the warning!
Did your scraper have something hard stuck to it like some dirt? I don't know if it wil help you but when i used a product like rainx on my older cars windshields a side effect was that most of the small pit marks would get filled in and seem to dissapear from the drivers perspective. Of course it wears off eventually but if helps hide the scratches...
You may want to try giving your windshield a really good cleaning with some alcohol as maybe what you see is some residue left on the windshield from the scraper?

#3 ·
Yes, I am hoping they are just scuff marks. I use a plastic scraper, and it's clean. I will get the car into the shop this weekend hopefully and see if they are just scuffs, not scratches.. but at this point and with just some minor rubbing. I am pretty sure they are scratches. I do have some rain-x that a buddy brought back from SEMA for me, but it has been too cold to apply. So that's my goal for this Saturday I guess. Clean and rain-x my windshield!

#6 ·