Reset Trip Meter - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2011, 12:20 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88175
Location: Listowel, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium, Sterling Grey

Posts: 121
FF Reputation: 1 Tumdace Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Reset Trip Meter

Looked all over the book, even fiddled around in the car for a bit.

Cant seem to find a way to make the trip reset.

Driving a TI.


Tumdace is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-13-2011, 12:46 PM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
downincircles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88881
Location: Buffalo, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Yellow Blaze Focus SE 5 Door

Posts: 141
FF Reputation: 1 downincircles Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I just hold OK on the left D Pad on the wheel. wait 5 seconds. resets
__________________
2012 Focus SE - Yellow Blaze - 5 Door - Manual - 203a - Sport Package - Winter Package - Moon Roof - G2 Caliper Paint - Autovation Pedals
downincircles is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 12:56 PM   #3
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84403
Location: northeastern, NY
What I Drive: '01 ZX3, '14 Civic XL '12 SEL

Posts: 1,575
FF Reputation: 2 cobie56 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
another example of a very minor but annoying design flaw... Why should u have to press and hold to reset guages... ALL other cars ive ever had, fords included, u press the button and let go and that's it '0'. If ur resetting all ur settings at once it feels as if it's taking an eternity... Again, minor but annoying.
cobie56 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 01:02 PM   #4
Drum n Bass Lover
 
BetaDnB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87466
Location: Buffalo, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Silver SE Sport

Posts: 2,146
Points 2,508, Level 30
Points: 2,508, Level: 30 Points: 2,508, Level: 30 Points: 2,508, Level: 30
Level Up 39% Completed
Level up: 39% Level up: 39% Level up: 39%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 13 BetaDnB Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobie56 View Post
another example of a very minor but annoying design flaw... Why should u have to press and hold to reset guages...
I personally would rather have to hold the button than just press it so I don't accidentally reset something I don't want to. I certainly wouldn't call it a design flaw.
__________________
Sedan Revolution #249 - 2012 SE Sport - ╠╬╝ - Ingot Silver - 201A - K&N w/ snorkel delete - Blox Type R Knob
BetaDnB is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 01:53 PM   #5
Focus Addict
 
TehMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87530
Location: Space, United States
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Focus Titanium Hatch

Posts: 697
Points 1,733, Level 24
Points: 1,733, Level: 24 Points: 1,733, Level: 24 Points: 1,733, Level: 24
Level Up 33% Completed
Level up: 33% Level up: 33% Level up: 33%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 TehMark Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetaDnB View Post
I personally would rather have to hold the button than just press it so I don't accidentally reset something I don't want to. I certainly wouldn't call it a design flaw.
Yarp, its not a stopwatch after all.
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
TehMark is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 02:41 PM   #6
Focus Fanatic
 
feta_mgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88210
Location: Vero Beach, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Focus SEL

Posts: 2,654
Points 3,286, Level 35
Points: 3,286, Level: 35 Points: 3,286, Level: 35 Points: 3,286, Level: 35
Level Up 58% Completed
Level up: 58% Level up: 58% Level up: 58%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 7 feta_mgp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobie56 View Post
another example of a very minor but annoying design flaw... Why should u have to press and hold to reset guages... ALL other cars ive ever had, fords included, u press the button and let go and that's it '0'. If ur resetting all ur settings at once it feels as if it's taking an eternity... Again, minor but annoying.
What you see as a flaw I see as a convenience. I hated accidentally resetting my meter when cycling between trips in my Mazda. It was click for switch and click and hold for a second to reset, so sometimes I'd accidentally reset just trying to switch trip displays.

And whats 5 seconds... are you really complaining about 5 seconds?
__________________
2012 SGM SEL Sedan Job 1 BD 6/2011
FSWERKS Cool-Flo w/ ITG Filter | FSWERKS Stealth Exhaust | 17x7.5 Axis Sport XMX Graphite wheels | Eibach Sportlines on Ti Handling Pkg bits
Sonic Crew #28
feta_mgp is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 02:42 PM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
Bill3rAIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89058
Location: Hicksville, NY
What I Drive: 2012 SE 5Dr Hatch Silver/2002 Dodge

Posts: 157
Points 490, Level 9
Points: 490, Level: 9 Points: 490, Level: 9 Points: 490, Level: 9
Level Up 80% Completed
Level up: 80% Level up: 80% Level up: 80%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 2 Bill3rAIL Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I found that one out myself. Yeah, the manual SUCKS!
Don't forget you need to reset all of the trip items individually. If you want to reset trip 1 and trip 2, there are a lot of steps to do this.
I only reset trip one at each tank of fuel. Trip 2 is reserved for long trips.
On my first tank, I did not do it correctly, so the information was not only for that tank of fuel.

Bill
__________________
Bill

2012 5 Door Hatch SE
203A & Sport package with 16" wheels
Bill3rAIL is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 02:48 PM   #8
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88175
Location: Listowel, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium, Sterling Grey

Posts: 121
FF Reputation: 1 Tumdace Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When do you guys fill your tank? Is it a good idea to wait till its lower, or maybe fill it around a few marks above empty?
Tumdace is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 03:04 PM   #9
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86852
Location: Boca Raton, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy Focus SEL

Posts: 29
Points 18, Level 1
Points: 18, Level: 1 Points: 18, Level: 1 Points: 18, Level: 1
Level Up 35% Completed
Level up: 35% Level up: 35% Level up: 35%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 The4thDoctor Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well, in my 2001 Mustang GT, I only had one trip computer and you had to push and hold the button, to reset. This was also true on my previous Honda.
The4thDoctor is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 03:05 PM   #10
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86852
Location: Boca Raton, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy Focus SEL

Posts: 29
Points 18, Level 1
Points: 18, Level: 1 Points: 18, Level: 1 Points: 18, Level: 1
Level Up 35% Completed
Level up: 35% Level up: 35% Level up: 35%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 The4thDoctor Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumdace View Post
When do you guys fill your tank? Is it a good idea to wait till its lower, or maybe fill it around a few marks above empty?
I always re-fill when I have around a quarter tank left.
The4thDoctor is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1