DDM Tuning 55w HIDs - Relay Harness or No Harness? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Second Generation > MK2 Focus

MK2 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the second generation 2008-2011 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2011, 10:06 PM   #1
Focus Addict
 
2011 SE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 80951
Location: Haverhill, MA
What I Drive: 2011 SE

Posts: 1,174
FF Reputation: 8 2011 SE Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
DDM Tuning 55w HIDs - Relay Harness or No Harness?

So back in January I bought some 5000K 55w DDM tuning HID ballasts/bulbs to eventually upgrade from my 35w kit. I bought the relay harness, but I was thinking...

How many people who have DDM Tuning 55w bulbs & ballasts actually use the relay harness? Is it really even needed, or is the stock wiring able to handle the initial draw?

If you use the harness, where the heck did you store the thing? It has a really long distance to travel from my right headlight to my battery, and I certainly don't want it to get caught on moving parts or melted by something hot. Regardless of what people answer, I'm probably going to use the relay harness since I paid for it, but I'm just interested in what everyone has to say.


__________________
2011 SE Manual - black exterior/interior
Eagle Eyes halo projectors using 55w 5000K DDMtuning HIDs
LED Conversion (license plate, map/dome lights), and LED Taillights
Autobots decal over Ford emblems
Flat black TFB Designs hood stripes
2011 SE is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2011, 11:18 PM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63209
Location: bergen county, NJ
What I Drive: 04svt 02svt

Posts: 258
Points 775, Level 14
Points: 775, Level: 14 Points: 775, Level: 14 Points: 775, Level: 14
Level Up 75% Completed
Level up: 75% Level up: 75% Level up: 75%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 fakitol Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Having background from electrial engineering I highly recommned to use the relays! :)
Better output & steady DC current.
Connect the relays directly to the battery terminal. Found helpful?
fakitol is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2011, 11:33 PM   #3
Focal Distortion
 
st12131's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Fan#: 74797
Location: North Las Vegas, NV
What I Drive: 2007, Huyndai, Santa Fe, GLS

Posts: 2,331
FF Reputation: 8 st12131 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I'm using a relay kit on my car, but only for a 35w kit. I ran the wires along the front of the car behind the grill and zip tied it to an existing harness. Also ran it right off the battery.
__________________
-Bob-
2012 F-150 EcoBoost 4X4 (work truck)
Focus S #1, Sedan Revolution #192, Rally Revolution #8, March 2012 SOTM
Focal Distortion, a Ford licensed club and FSC member.
Sgt, USMC (1999-2003)
st12131 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2011, 06:55 AM   #4
Moderator
 
misfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31379
Location: West Chester, PA
What I Drive: 2012 SEL Hatch, 2014 Mazda CX-5

Posts: 16,155
Points 17,238, Level 83
Points: 17,238, Level: 83 Points: 17,238, Level: 83 Points: 17,238, Level: 83
Level Up 78% Completed
Level up: 78% Level up: 78% Level up: 78%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 31 misfire Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by st12131 View Post
i'm using a relay kit on my car, but only for a 35w kit. I ran the wires along the front of the car behind the grill and zip tied it to an existing harness. Also ran it right off the battery.
x2!!
__________________
Will aka Misfire
2003 LX "traded in"/2010 SES "traded in"/2012 SEL Hatch "current"
misfire is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2011, 09:16 PM   #5
Focus Addict
 
gtferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88110
Location: Grand Rapids/Big Rapids/Bangor/South Haven, MI
What I Drive: 2008 Vista Blue SES Coupe

Posts: 578
Points 969, Level 16
Points: 969, Level: 16 Points: 969, Level: 16 Points: 969, Level: 16
Level Up 69% Completed
Level up: 69% Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 gtferrari Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
the relay is the safest way. doesnt overload your stock harness and if your lights have ever flickered when the car is running but not when just on battery power this will fix it.

the car my have voltage stabilization and when a hid kit starts up it draws different voltage and current then switches over once ignited. with the relay the car will only see one voltage and current and thus not have to compensate.

a relay may run hot and you will get what you pay for. i hear a relay only plugs into one of the light pigtails leaving the other open. again if the car is equipped with a bulb indicator in the dash the unused harness may turn it on so some kits come with a resistor to correct that. this being a focus you may not have to worry about it.
gtferrari is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2011, 05:21 PM   #6
Focus Addict
 
SlateTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63859
Location: Socal
What I Drive: 2008 Silver SE Sedan

Posts: 728
FF Reputation: 1 SlateTheGreat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have the 55w 8k DDMs and have for over a year now and have no relays or any additional wiring. The stock headlights run at 55w I was told. I've never had problem, no flickering or anything. My car reacts more to rolling down a window than turning my lights on. It's simple plug and play. Lights to ballast to preexisting headlight wiring.

EDIT: I was one of the first few to get these projectors/HIDs back in the day as far as I know. Most of us run it as I do and there has never really been a reported issue. This kit is meant to be true plug and play, don't over complicate it. PM me if you have any more questions.
SlateTheGreat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2011, 07:13 PM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gabe2010SE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Fan#: 70327
Location: Stoneham, MA
What I Drive: '13 Mustang 5.0L 6spd, '10 Focus SE

Posts: 495
Points 3,041, Level 33
Points: 3,041, Level: 33 Points: 3,041, Level: 33 Points: 3,041, Level: 33
Level Up 94% Completed
Level up: 94% Level up: 94% Level up: 94%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 Gabe2010SE Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I have a VVME kit that I'd like to install (still) ... I've had it for months, but when I first got it I didn't know/couldn't figure out how to remove the headlights ... so I never installed it ... lol

Since then, I've done a lot of things to the little FoFo, including replacing the OEM headlights for tinted ones, so I'd love to finally install HIDs ...

Just how involved is the install on these cars ?



.
__________________
'13 Mustang GT SterlingGray, 6-spd man, Recaros, Track Pack. Ordered 6.6.12, born 7.25.12, mine 8.11.12. 2.3L Whipple & a few other things. 591 RWHP, 505 RWTQ
Gabe2010SE is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2011, 08:35 PM   #8
Focus Addict
 
SlateTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63859
Location: Socal
What I Drive: 2008 Silver SE Sedan

Posts: 728
FF Reputation: 1 SlateTheGreat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Too involved if you don't have projectors. Cause it's illegal. Please don't put HIDs in stock headlights, even tinted. The scatter is ridiculous. Spend a lil extra and get projectors to focus it and put it down without blinding everyone else.
SlateTheGreat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2011, 10:56 AM   #9
low n slow
 
jmcrides03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Fan#: 75938
Location: cleveland, OH
What I Drive: 96 paseo 97 contour zetec mtx 75

Posts: 2,163
FF Reputation: 7 jmcrides03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
ok since this is a semi recent hid thread im gonna thrtead jack it. my ddm d2s kit just showed up for my machs but im kinda confused on how to hook up their ballast with out the relay harness. theres 2 plugs on the ballast one is for the bulb and one is for power. the power one looks like this
is there a plug on the car that should plug into that or ami going to have to find a pigtail from the junkyard? help lol
also if it matters my car was never wired for machs this a a retrofit of sorts i got genuine hella housings and projectors but they came with no bulbs or ballasts
__________________
sedan revolution #83 Team Focus Cleveland #14
96 toyota paseo 97 contour zetec mtx turbo build in progress
jmcrides03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2011, 01:02 PM   #10
Focus Addict
 
gtferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88110
Location: Grand Rapids/Big Rapids/Bangor/South Haven, MI
What I Drive: 2008 Vista Blue SES Coupe

Posts: 578
Points 969, Level 16
Points: 969, Level: 16 Points: 969, Level: 16 Points: 969, Level: 16
Level Up 69% Completed
Level up: 69% Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 gtferrari Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
pig tail or hard wire it in. sorry. nothing is ever pnp. you can get a pig tail from your ford dealer for ~$30 ea. or go to the junk yard and get a pair for $5. your dealer will have a wire connector catalog where they can match it up. just hope it isnt on back order.
gtferrari is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1