No Tach - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2005, 12:18 PM   #1
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Fan#: 22828
Location: Harlem
What I Drive: 2005 Seedy Silver ZX3 S

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Rachmiel Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Unhappy No Tach

Just got a new zx3 5-spd . . . what fun! But it being the bargain-basement "S," there's no tach . . . driving a stick with no tach is very difficult . . .

Does Ford sell aftermarket upgrades on the instrument panel? Add-on tachs that don't look stupid? Suggestions?

Thanks . . .


__________________
"One can always find warm hearts who,
in a glow of emotion, would like to make
the whole world happy, but have never
attempted the sober experiment of
bringing a real blessing to a single
human being." ~ Rabbi Leo Baeck
Rachmiel is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2005, 01:27 PM   #2
GO Green
 
DrkKnight614's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 14522
Location: Long Island, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2003 2.0L Grabber Green Zx3

Posts: 11,145
Points 26,111, Level 96
Points: 26,111, Level: 96 Points: 26,111, Level: 96 Points: 26,111, Level: 96
Level Up 77% Completed
Level up: 77% Level up: 77% Level up: 77%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 47 DrkKnight614 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
hmm...ull just have to relax, focus your mind, and listen for the right time to shift young padwan. Luke didnt need a targeting computer to blow up the death star....you sure dont need a tach to switch gears. Use the force Michael.
__________________
My 2003 Ford Focus ZX3 - Finally realized it's a 4cyl
DrkKnight614 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2005, 01:44 PM   #3
Focus Fanatic
 
Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Fan#: 10715
Location: Annapolis, MD, MD
What I Drive: 2011 Dodge Charger, 70 Olds Cutlass

Posts: 2,208
FF Reputation: 1 Turtle Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ford DOES make an aftermarket tach, but you'll also need to get the tach driver. www.bat-inc.net has them.

I feel your pain; my SE doesn't have a tach either. Of course, my car is an ATX for now, but still . . .
__________________
Facts:
1. Ninjas are mammals.
2. Ninjas fight ALL the time.
3. The purpose of the ninja is to flip out and kill people.
_______________________

It takes a real man to wear a kilt.
_______________________
Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2005, 06:17 PM   #4
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Fan#: 12531
Location: South Florida
What I Drive: 01 Sangria Red Sedan

Posts: 89
FF Reputation: 2 faufresh Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally posted by DrkKnight614
....you sure dont need a tach to switch gears. Use the force Michael.

but it's sure nice to look at! N E ways... You could certainly switch out your cluster with a Focus that has a tach. It's a simple swap if you want to retain that stock look. Just make sure your mileage is about the same. I paid $25 at a junkyard, and that's only cause he caught me... lol E-bay has em too. Just look around and be patient, you'll find your deal somewhere!
__________________
"I dun neeeeed no Instructions to know how to ROCK!" Carl

I may not agree with what you say, but i'll defend to the death your right to say it...
faufresh is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2005, 09:47 PM   #5
Focus Fanatic
 
scironzts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 893
Location: Wilmington, NC
What I Drive: '04 ZTW

Posts: 3,283
FF Reputation: 1 scironzts Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Yeah, a lot of people with LX's and SE's with the SPI will swap out their instrument cluster with one that has a tach. A little modification, and you're good to go. That's the "cleanest" route to go if you want a tach. Otherwise, you could always get one of them huge ass unnecessary monster tachs on your dash. LOL
__________________
04 ZTW | Wagons will rise again.
scironzts is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2005, 10:57 AM   #6
Focus Fanatic
 
Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Fan#: 10715
Location: Annapolis, MD, MD
What I Drive: 2011 Dodge Charger, 70 Olds Cutlass

Posts: 2,208
FF Reputation: 1 Turtle Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
But correct me if I'm wrong; if the car doesn't come with a tach from the factory, you still need to install the tach driver, right? I wouldn't mind a tach in my car too, but I think there's more to it than just swapping clusters, right? And couldn't you just swap the little LCD screen with the one from your factory cluster? That would maintain your accurate mileage, etc.
__________________
Facts:
1. Ninjas are mammals.
2. Ninjas fight ALL the time.
3. The purpose of the ninja is to flip out and kill people.
_______________________

It takes a real man to wear a kilt.
_______________________
Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2005, 11:22 AM   #7
RespectMyAuthoritah!
 
lildisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Fan#: 5761
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 06 Mazda6i, 08 Mazda CX7 GT AWD

Posts: 6,801
Points 31,160, Level 100
Points: 31,160, Level: 100 Points: 31,160, Level: 100 Points: 31,160, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 47 lildisco Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
Quote:
Originally posted by Turtle
But correct me if I'm wrong; if the car doesn't come with a tach from the factory, you still need to install the tach driver, right? I wouldn't mind a tach in my car too, but I think there's more to it than just swapping clusters, right? And couldn't you just swap the little LCD screen with the one from your factory cluster? That would maintain your accurate mileage, etc.

That's only if you want to install an aftermarket tach that you'll need a tach driver for. You've seen them at auto-zone or pep boys that some people use to shift better because they're more 'accurate' supposively. But can simply swap out a non-tach cluster with a cluster with a tach and be on your way. Only problem is that the mileage won't be the correct mileage on the new tach unless you go to ford and have them correct it. Even then that's a challege. I'd ask before you tell them because they might get you for odometer fraud.
__________________
"I flushed a bag of skittles down the toilet yesterday and watched a NASCAR race in 8 seconds flat."
06 Spring Into Focus Best Sedan/Wagon Winner

03 SE SVT Wannabe (sold) to help pay for my 08 Cooper Red Mazda CX7 AWD GT

Last edited by lildisco; 05-23-2005 at 11:28 AM.
lildisco is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2005, 01:48 PM   #8
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 21928
Location: wherever the car is
What I Drive: 2007 BRG Mini Cooper

Posts: 471
FF Reputation: 1 valthun Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The 05 manual lists both the tach and the non-tach version clusters. The one with the tach is listed as an upgrade, or optional cluster. I have the ZX3 S with no tach, but it really does not bother me. I have been driving standard transmission cars for years without tachs. My dads 84 Toyota pickup, my own 94 Dodge Dakota, my 2000 Eclipse, my 73 Beetle, and now my ZX3. Each one had a standard transmission without a tach. And only my ZX3 had a shift light. Just before I got rid of my beetle did I notice little red dashes on the speedo, that actually indicate where you should shift for better performance
valthun is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2005, 11:58 AM   #9
Focus Addict
 
paulhaskew's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Fan#: 22729
Location: Pierce County, WA
What I Drive: 2005 CD Silver ST

Posts: 650
Points 2,415, Level 29
Points: 2,415, Level: 29 Points: 2,415, Level: 29 Points: 2,415, Level: 29
Level Up 77% Completed
Level up: 77% Level up: 77% Level up: 77%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 3 paulhaskew Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
ah ha... need to get this for my wife so she can see how hard she is driving her car... her poor little SOHC 2.0L gets abused a bit... but more power scares her... lol

did you do this and did it work?
__________________
2005 CD Silver ST-T - Too much FWHP!
2007 CD Silver ST-T - Just enough FWHP!
2008 Pearl White Mazda5 - Pimpin' Momma Wagon!
Motive Racing - [> = my friend!
paulhaskew is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2005, 03:03 PM   #10
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2005
Fan#: 23793
Location: Lebanon, Oregon
What I Drive: 2006 350Z

Posts: 282
FF Reputation: 1 SpeedDemonZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a 2005 zx3 s as well and all you have to do is change clusters?? The tach wiring just fits in with the rest and you dont need to do anything to get it to work right? I just want to make sure before I go making the swap.
SpeedDemonZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1