can you sync an instrument cluster yourself? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2003, 10:58 PM   #1
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Fan#: 1633
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 bo_bert25 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Question can you sync an instrument cluster yourself?

I want to add a cluster with tach to my car but don't want the mileage to be off if I replace it.The dealerships say they can't sync the cluster from a junkyard cluster, so I'm curious if it can be done on your own.



Last edited by bo_bert25; 11-06-2003 at 11:00 PM.
bo_bert25 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2003, 11:37 PM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 392
Location: Roanoke, VA
What I Drive: 2001 Excursion (ISO another foci)

Posts: 365
Points 6,874, Level 54
Points: 6,874, Level: 54 Points: 6,874, Level: 54 Points: 6,874, Level: 54
Level Up 62% Completed
Level up: 62% Level up: 62% Level up: 62%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 llama_in_a_focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (22)
they can synnc it.
__________________
Check out my for sale thread!!!

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3668272&posted=1#post3668272
llama_in_a_focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2003, 11:48 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Focus~Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 994
Location: CT. USA
What I Drive: Black 2001 4-Dr ZTS... Oh the heck with it... As long as it's a Focus!! :)

Posts: 109
FF Reputation: 1 Focus~Racer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Thumbs down

Yeah, Seriously....

Either go back to the dealership and talk to a supervisor or find a different dealership... I got the same answer from the one where I live.. I had a 00 4-dr SE no Tach, bought a cluster from a ZTS off of ebay and I went to another dealership and they said it was no problem.. I don't remember what the cost was, it wasn't that bad I know that much.. Some places just don't want to be bothered and some will help out tuners... You just have to find the right place..

__________________
If you make something Idiot Proof....
Someone, somewhere, will just make a better idiot....

98% of All Fords are Still On the Road Today!!!
The other 2% actually made it home!!
Focus~Racer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2003, 08:40 AM   #4
Mr. Wizard
 
RPIJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 18
Location: Portland, ME
What I Drive: '02 Focus SE 4DR Zetec

Posts: 937
FF Reputation: 1 RPIJG Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I personally watched someone install a cluster with a tach, into an SE without one, and he didn't have to do anything. The mileage was correct as it had ever been, the mileage I think then is stored in the ECU and not the little LCD display screen.
__________________
Bye Bye Focus
Hello MkV GTI w/DSG!
RPIJG is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2003, 10:20 AM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 392
Location: Roanoke, VA
What I Drive: 2001 Excursion (ISO another foci)

Posts: 365
Points 6,874, Level 54
Points: 6,874, Level: 54 Points: 6,874, Level: 54 Points: 6,874, Level: 54
Level Up 62% Completed
Level up: 62% Level up: 62% Level up: 62%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 llama_in_a_focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (22)
wrong. it is in the display. nice try though and thanks for playing.
__________________
Check out my for sale thread!!!

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3668272&posted=1#post3668272
llama_in_a_focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2003, 11:09 AM   #6
Mr. Wizard
 
RPIJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 18
Location: Portland, ME
What I Drive: '02 Focus SE 4DR Zetec

Posts: 937
FF Reputation: 1 RPIJG Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm not going to get into an argument in here about this, I personally (as in with my own eyes) watched a cluster swap from a non-tach cluster to a tach cluster with no adjustment, the mileage was precisely as it was prior to the change. The car was a 2003 SE w/zetec but had what appeared to be an SPI cluster. After the swap from a 2002 ZX3, the tach worked, and the mileage was correct.
__________________
Bye Bye Focus
Hello MkV GTI w/DSG!
RPIJG is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2003, 12:38 AM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
Focus~Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 994
Location: CT. USA
What I Drive: Black 2001 4-Dr ZTS... Oh the heck with it... As long as it's a Focus!! :)

Posts: 109
FF Reputation: 1 Focus~Racer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Thumbs up

RPIJG


Im sure the last thing anyone wants is another forum Flame Fest, and I am not sure how or why that may have happened unless the person got the cluster with the same milage by some freak chance or had it set somewhere. But in all seriousness I have the actual Ford Factory service manual. (the one the dealership uses for the cars ) Anyway, the millage is stored in the clusters memory not the ECU. I did one back in the day, and the cluster with out tach had like 29K the cluster with tach had like 31K so I just said the heck with it... It's not less so who cares?? Like I said, no one is arguing the fact that you saw that, but the cold truth is while the ECU more then likely stores the millage, the cluster doesn't get it's millage from the Ecu, it has it's own memory...

__________________
If you make something Idiot Proof....
Someone, somewhere, will just make a better idiot....

98% of All Fords are Still On the Road Today!!!
The other 2% actually made it home!!
Focus~Racer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2003, 09:04 AM   #8
Mr. Wizard
 
RPIJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 18
Location: Portland, ME
What I Drive: '02 Focus SE 4DR Zetec

Posts: 937
FF Reputation: 1 RPIJG Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah I don't want a flamefest, maybe the signal is different for newer cars. I watched this change with a 2003 as I said, maybe the newer cars do it differently, I don't know enough about this, the worst that can happen is you plug it in and it doesn't work, the best it does and you are good to go.
__________________
Bye Bye Focus
Hello MkV GTI w/DSG!
RPIJG is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2003, 10:02 AM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 392
Location: Roanoke, VA
What I Drive: 2001 Excursion (ISO another foci)

Posts: 365
Points 6,874, Level 54
Points: 6,874, Level: 54 Points: 6,874, Level: 54 Points: 6,874, Level: 54
Level Up 62% Completed
Level up: 62% Level up: 62% Level up: 62%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 llama_in_a_focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (22)
Quote:
Originally posted by RPIJG
I don't know enough about this
and i do, so don't pm me saying i am wrong. if you don't know, then that is ok, just don't argue. the only reason i am, is i am right and don't want to see someone have a 100 dollar problem on their hands. much less have the car titled as one with no odomiter disclosure statement. that would about total his car out and you could care less.
__________________
Check out my for sale thread!!!

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3668272&posted=1#post3668272
llama_in_a_focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2003, 10:44 AM   #10
Mr. Wizard
 
RPIJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 18
Location: Portland, ME
What I Drive: '02 Focus SE 4DR Zetec

Posts: 937
FF Reputation: 1 RPIJG Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by llama_in_a_focus
and i do, so don't pm me saying i am wrong. if you don't know, then that is ok, just don't argue. the only reason i am, is i am right and don't want to see someone have a 100 dollar problem on their hands. much less have the car titled as one with no odomiter disclosure statement. that would about total his car out and you could care less.
I'm not going to go into this with you. As I said, I have watched this change out, I asked the person about it, they did no modification to the cluster whatsoever, the 2003 had 13K the cluster that went into the car had 26K before it was changed. The cluster read 13K when it was swapped in front of my eyes, no adjustments or trickery. I don't know enough about the possible differences between the model years, not about what I saw. Llama if you want to be rude about this feel free to be, I find your manner and attitude extremely childish and immature.
__________________
Bye Bye Focus
Hello MkV GTI w/DSG!
RPIJG is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument cluster Dealer Test Mode dustinkimble General Technical Chat 27 08-23-2014 02:53 AM
For Sale: SVT instrument cluster ZX3ST BST Archive 2 04-19-2005 09:50 AM
Duratec/PSEV Instrument cluster swap? DidHeFocus? DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 2 11-01-2004 07:23 PM
Instrument cluster swap whirlwind MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 14 05-05-2004 11:39 PM
Instrument Cluster Swap hendu33 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 6 09-10-2003 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1