Need Help Fast! gauges - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 03:34 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
RepinCali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61286
Location: Paso Robles, California
What I Drive: 2005 Silver Zx3

Posts: 233
FF Reputation: 1 RepinCali Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Need Help Fast! gauges

I got some new white face plates for my gauges a week ago. and just now was installing them. well guess what happens. The frekin rpm and mph needles pop off! i dont know what to do! i cant get the timing right so i dont know how fast im going....


__________________
xbox live: M FoR MeMoRiZe
Reppin Tha 805
RepinCali is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2009, 03:43 PM   #2
Focus Fanatic
 
TerryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34559
Location: Riverside, RI
What I Drive: Red '01 ZX3

Posts: 2,920
Points 5,455, Level 47
Points: 5,455, Level: 47 Points: 5,455, Level: 47 Points: 5,455, Level: 47
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 68 TerryB Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
There is a trick to figuring your RPM and speed by using the trip reset button. Holding it in when starting your car. It will give you the read out you need. You will have to leave the front piece off to put the needles on at speed. Not so much the RPM, but the speed. I'll see if I can find the thread. It's kinda of a pain but don't get bummed out. It'll get fixed.
Start here. Or do a needle reset search.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/howtos/needlecalibration/
TerryB is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 03:46 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
RepinCali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61286
Location: Paso Robles, California
What I Drive: 2005 Silver Zx3

Posts: 233
FF Reputation: 1 RepinCali Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks man. It sucks so much ! its so difficult
__________________
xbox live: M FoR MeMoRiZe
Reppin Tha 805
RepinCali is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 03:52 PM   #4
Focus Fanatic
 
TerryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34559
Location: Riverside, RI
What I Drive: Red '01 ZX3

Posts: 2,920
Points 5,455, Level 47
Points: 5,455, Level: 47 Points: 5,455, Level: 47 Points: 5,455, Level: 47
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 68 TerryB Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
How do I know. I went through the same thing about a month ago. When I did my speed, I lightly taped the tip of the needle to the gauge face and rested the other end on the pin. When I hit the speed I pushed it on lightly. Do not push it too hard, it will rub against the face. For RPM, just sit in a parking lot and use the reset trick to find RPM. I set my speed a little higher for a fudge factor. Showed 55 mph and I went with 52 or so.
List of test buttons.
Breakdown of some of the functions:
1 Press - Shows a Gauge Sweep
2 Presses - shows all 8's on the LCD (LCD TEST)
3 Presses - illuminates all the bulbs on the dash
4 Presses - displays hexadecimal value for ROM level
5 Presses - Displays the hexadecimal value for EE level
6 Presses - Shows DTC Troubleshooting Codes (Nothing to worry about though)
7 Presses - DIGITAL SPEEDOMETER - MPH
8 Presses - DIGITAL SPEEDOMETER - KPH
10 Presses - DIGITAL TACHOMETER
TerryB is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 05:06 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49285
Location: none, Not Listed
What I Drive: SKATEBOARD

Posts: 656
FF Reputation: 10 FX4BAJA Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
I just did mine and did the RPM and speedo setting in the garage.Once you get the cluster in test mode useing the trip reset button and finding the RPM readout with the engine runing and fully warmed up.Like said above the RPM is easy it may take a few trys though.For the speedo i remembered where the needle was at rest before i took it out it was at rest just over the corner of the LCD display yours should be same.In test mode there is a test(may be the Gauge Sweep test Terry posted) that will reset the needle postion to default (at least that is what i think it does)you can see the RPM needle shake back and forth when you do it.Once you see that you can carefully put the speedo needle on the stem in the position i noted above and it should be pretty close to right on.That worked for me.
FX4BAJA is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 05:19 PM   #6
Focus Fanatic
 
TerryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34559
Location: Riverside, RI
What I Drive: Red '01 ZX3

Posts: 2,920
Points 5,455, Level 47
Points: 5,455, Level: 47 Points: 5,455, Level: 47 Points: 5,455, Level: 47
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 68 TerryB Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I tried the speed while not moving too. I just couldn't seem to get it right.
TerryB is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 05:38 PM   #7
coffee, have some
 
Mr.Bergner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32799
Location: Overland Park, KS
What I Drive: 2004 TW Blue ZX3

Posts: 5,971
Points 6,453, Level 52
Points: 6,453, Level: 52 Points: 6,453, Level: 52 Points: 6,453, Level: 52
Level Up 52% Completed
Level up: 52% Level up: 52% Level up: 52%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 53 Mr.Bergner Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
I did mine going down a straight road at 30mph, and now they're more accurate than they used to be. I go back into test mode just to check every once and awhile, and still spot on.

I wouldn't suggest doing it standing still.

I would suggest having someone else in the car when doing the speedo though. Have them hold the wheel, that's what I did.
__________________
2004 ZX3 - Twighlight Blue_____________________________________ _ _ _ _ _ _
Mr.Bergner is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 05:43 PM   #8
Focus Fanatic
 
TerryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34559
Location: Riverside, RI
What I Drive: Red '01 ZX3

Posts: 2,920
Points 5,455, Level 47
Points: 5,455, Level: 47 Points: 5,455, Level: 47 Points: 5,455, Level: 47
Level Up 53% Completed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 68 TerryB Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bergner View Post
I did mine going down a straight road at 30mph, and now they're more accurate than they used to be. I go back into test mode just to check every once and awhile, and still spot on.

I wouldn't suggest doing it standing still.

I would suggest having someone else in the car when doing the speedo though. Have them hold the wheel, that's what I did.
True dat ! My son helped me by watching the road ahead.
TerryB is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 06:26 PM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
RepinCali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61286
Location: Paso Robles, California
What I Drive: 2005 Silver Zx3

Posts: 233
FF Reputation: 1 RepinCali Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No i didnt get a new cluster, I just got a new template. but the needles popped off. So like i can get it accurate. how am i suppose to put it in the perfect spot?
__________________
xbox live: M FoR MeMoRiZe
Reppin Tha 805
RepinCali is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 06:35 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49285
Location: none, Not Listed
What I Drive: SKATEBOARD

Posts: 656
FF Reputation: 10 FX4BAJA Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
It worked for me doing it without moving useing the way i described above.I verified it by one of the portable radar signs the police put on the side of the road so i know it is correct.
FX4BAJA is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GAUGES - Meters, Linkable systems, Widebands, Gauge Overlays, LED Needle Kits, Digital Gauges, and more PerformanceHookup BST Archive 39 05-19-2010 12:38 PM
White Face Gauges 05blakfocus MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 15 02-28-2008 12:45 PM
Where to wire glow gauges ZachG86 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 1 10-25-2007 10:56 PM
Using stock light dimmer with aftermarket gauges! Alex52686 MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 3 03-03-2005 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1