Oil Temp Guage Prob HELP - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2008, 08:58 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
03zx3RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Fan#: 30653
Location: Manassas, Va., WV
What I Drive: gray 2 dor zxw 02

Posts: 103
FF Reputation: 1 03zx3RR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oil Temp Guage Prob HELP

Whats up, I'm having some problems installing an oil temp guage, it is electrical, with a sending unit 1 wire, ingition and ground. I have ran all the wires correctly double and triple checked them. When I turn my ingition it comes on and reads maxd out, the motor is cold since i was in the process of changing the oil. any ideas?? Thanks, also if it matters 03 zetec, greddy oil filter adapter w/auto meter sending unit/guage installed. Thanks for any help or insight into this.


03zx3RR is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2008, 08:29 AM   #2
Banned
 
scrammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26570
Location: Hagerstown, MD
What I Drive: February 2010 ROTM

Posts: 7,946
FF Reputation: 172 scrammer Excellent Standing Member scrammer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
if the gauges is pegged to the right, you have a bad ground.
check your connections
scrammer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2008, 08:43 AM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
03zx3RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Fan#: 30653
Location: Manassas, Va., WV
What I Drive: gray 2 dor zxw 02

Posts: 103
FF Reputation: 1 03zx3RR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ahh I have, numerous times. what constitutes a bad ground anyway, Im starting to think its where the sender unit goes in to the greddy adaptar. Im not even sure about how to ground the sending unit, its supposed to ground through the threads.

Last edited by 03zx3RR; 03-23-2008 at 08:45 AM. Reason: more info
03zx3RR is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2008, 08:46 AM   #4
Banned
 
scrammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26570
Location: Hagerstown, MD
What I Drive: February 2010 ROTM

Posts: 7,946
FF Reputation: 172 scrammer Excellent Standing Member scrammer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
ahh well check them again.
it can be either the ground at the sending unit or the ground for the gauge.
a pegged gauges is due to a bad ground, period.
i suggest using sandpaper and file down where your connections are. this will help.
make sure your sending unit ground is actually a ground. where are you grounding these?
scrammer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2008, 12:25 PM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
03zx3RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Fan#: 30653
Location: Manassas, Va., WV
What I Drive: gray 2 dor zxw 02

Posts: 103
FF Reputation: 1 03zx3RR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The sending unit is supposed to ground through the threads, the oil filter adapter is aluminum though, so im not sure how im supposed to ground it.
03zx3RR is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2008, 12:53 PM   #6
Focus Addict
 
mighty_mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Fan#: 28775
Location: Menifee, CA
What I Drive: 2005, White, ZX3

Posts: 897
Points 3,513, Level 37
Points: 3,513, Level: 37 Points: 3,513, Level: 37 Points: 3,513, Level: 37
Level Up 9% Completed
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 17 mighty_mouse Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03zx3RR View Post
The sending unit is supposed to ground through the threads, the oil filter adapter is aluminum though, so im not sure how im supposed to ground it.
You need to run the ground wire on the gauge to a better ground. The stereo ground would work well. The sending unit will not work as a ground for the gauge , because it is sending/recieving an electrical current in order to return the position of the sending unit. Just a quick question, what is the range of the gauge? 0-100?

Mouse
__________________
1/4 mile is what now?
[Team Duratec #86] [L.O.T.H #7]
Like MAC products for your Mustang or Focus? Come talk to me, I'll help you out
mighty_mouse is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2008, 01:08 PM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
03zx3RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Fan#: 30653
Location: Manassas, Va., WV
What I Drive: gray 2 dor zxw 02

Posts: 103
FF Reputation: 1 03zx3RR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The guage is an autometer 100-250 degree, The only thing I can figure is the sending unit needs to be grounded, Im not grounding the guage through the sending unit,The sending unit is supposed to ground its self through its treads. I grounded the guage where I grounded my voltmeter and oil press guages, and they work good.
03zx3RR is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2008, 01:31 PM   #8
Focus Addict
 
mighty_mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Fan#: 28775
Location: Menifee, CA
What I Drive: 2005, White, ZX3

Posts: 897
Points 3,513, Level 37
Points: 3,513, Level: 37 Points: 3,513, Level: 37 Points: 3,513, Level: 37
Level Up 9% Completed
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 17 mighty_mouse Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Oops sorry, about the 0-100... thought it was a oil pressure gauge.... The sending unit is grounded, because it is attached to the block. Aluminum conducts electricity. Maybe there is an obstruction at the sending unit? or the wire? Did you check continuity of the sending wire? its possible its damaged.

Mouse
__________________
1/4 mile is what now?
[Team Duratec #86] [L.O.T.H #7]
Like MAC products for your Mustang or Focus? Come talk to me, I'll help you out
mighty_mouse is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2008, 07:48 PM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
03zx3RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Fan#: 30653
Location: Manassas, Va., WV
What I Drive: gray 2 dor zxw 02

Posts: 103
FF Reputation: 1 03zx3RR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Alright its fixed I just want to say Thank you so much Scrammer and Mighty Mouse for all your input, what happened was the sending unit got turned when tighting up the filter adapter, and was touching the block thus giving the problem, so its all good now, Thanks
03zx3RR is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2008, 10:27 PM   #10
Banned
 
scrammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26570
Location: Hagerstown, MD
What I Drive: February 2010 ROTM

Posts: 7,946
FF Reputation: 172 scrammer Excellent Standing Member scrammer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
sweet!

glad to hear you got it taken care of. pics of final install?
scrammer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil pressure or temp gauge marektinka General Forced Induction 5 07-19-2007 09:45 AM
fear of changing my own oil...mechanically challenged foundonroadalive DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 24 06-17-2007 10:52 PM
THE Duratec 20E Oil Change From HELL 3dooredDEATH DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 10 12-18-2005 01:01 PM
oil pressure guage inline_engine_lover Ford Focus & General Car Chat 1 09-17-2003 05:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1