Focus Fanatics Forum banner

2001 Focus ZTS

4K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  zetecDon 
#1 ·
Hey everyone I am new to the ford forums, I just picked up a 2001 focus ZTS 5-speed with 173k on the odometer for 350$. what I was wondering is is there anything I should be looking out for, I have already replaced the ignition coil to an MSD along with the MSD wires and NGK iridium plugs, I also put a bully stage 4 clutch and fly wheel in the clutch and tranny were acting a lil jumpy so I changed it out just to be safe. my next project is the cams, cam gears, header and exaust. This was all new to me as I normally have an import so any help would be great. I live in Florida so I dont have to contend with the weather like I did in New York.

#2 ·
The 2000-2001 Foci were plagued with a number of pattern failures. The ones you will encounter are:

1. Old style ignition lock cylinder failure. This one is only a matter of time. Replace it with new style BEFORE it seizes up and requires drilling.
2. PCV hose collapse at intake manifold. Replace with improved part #XS4Z-6N664-BA
3. Alternator pigtail failure. Solder Motorcraft P/N WPT-118 pigtail kit (1U2Z-14S411-TA) onto wiring harness
4. Front spring failure in the rust states usually near the top. Unfortunately you are over the 10yr extended warranty program on this.
5. Rear spring failure in the rust states usually near the bottom.
6. Rear wheel bearing failure. If you have rear disk brakes, this also requires replacement of the rear spindles. There was a program on this years ago. It's over now.
7. Fuel pump failure. The program on this is now over.
8. Front sway-bar end-link failure - Just replace every 5 years anyhow, they're not hard to replace or expensive.
9. Front passenger-side windshield cowling failure causing water leakage onto front passenger floor pan. Clean windshield and replace cowling.