Focus Fanatics Forum banner

2001 - SE - Positive Crankcase Ventilation Filter Question

6K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  amc49 
#1 ·
Hello folks - a Focus newbie here.

I've looked high and low for a positive crankcase ventilation filter - the small square sponge type filter found inside the air box at the top left-hand side - any guidance would be greatly appreciated. It seems as though it should be a $0.75 filter....something tells me I won't be able to get one for under $20! Just curious if anyone could help guide me to a source for this filter - thanks in advance.

#2 ·
all I ever did was wash it, never replace one. I have a CIA now, so I no longer have it, so it never got to the point of replacing. I just spent 15 mins searching, and came up with nothing, which is why you are looking at a $20 piece of foam, they probably realize how hard they are to get. Might be an idea to look at u-pull scrap yards if you have any to see if you can get a decent one and wash it (or several). Chances are they won't even know what it is or have a price listing for it, so you should be able to take them really cheap if not for free.

#4 ·
I'd use this as a last resort, since matching density could be an issue, too heavy restricts air, too light and you're letting crap get in your engine and oil. Get the wrong type and it could dry out and crumble right into your engine.

#6 ·
It's the other end of the PCV loop. Go to Home Depot or like and buy a Briggs and Stratton green foam mower filter and razor blade a chunk out of it to fit, or buy a bulk piece of the breather fiber sold at auto parts stores for earlier V-8 type cars. Scissors to fit. Should get it for $3-$4 with more left for later.

#7 ·
#8 ·