Focus Fanatics Forum banner

New Water Pump Replacement HOW-TO w/ PICS

184K views 43 replies 33 participants last post by  Greasemanicure 
#1 · (Edited)
Disclaimer:
I can't be responsible for any damages done to your car. I'm not an expert, I just was doing the work and had a camera handy. This is a guide and work should be done at your own risk.
grimple1-His original HOW-TO gave me enough info to get the job done. All of this how to is thanks to him.(Except the Pictures)
b16sir1991 A.K.A. Mike at Hilbish Ford-He gave me a great deal on a Motorcraft water pump, seal, and drive belt. Thanks Mike.
Tools Needed:
Jack
Jack Stands
Catch Pan
Cresent Wrench
8mm socket
10mm socket
15mm socket
18mm socket
How To:
1.Jack up the front of the car and place on jack stands.

2.Open the coolant resevoir cap and then loosen radiator drain plug w/ catch pan underneath.(It's on the back of the driver's side at the bottom of the radiator.

3.Take off coolant resevoir tank from frame (1 x 10mm).

4.Remove belt cover plastic from below (2x 10mm).

5.With a wood block and jack support the engine's oil pan.

6.Remove passenger side motor mount w/ engine FIRMLY supported (2 x 18mm ,3 15mm).

Another view

One w/ the mount removed

7.Remove bolts on Water Pump Pulley (3X 10mm wrench)
From up top

From underneath

One w/ the pulley off

8.With the pulley loose it should be able to be carefully pulled off and make the belt come loose, or you could use the belt tensioner.
9.Remove water pump bolts (4x 8mm)