Fuel Management - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2004, 12:51 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast

Fan#: 4589
What I Drive: 2001 Twilight Blue ZX3

FF Reputation: 1 TryToFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Unhappy Fuel Management

Can somebody please explain exactly how aftermarket fuel management works on the Zetec? I've seen examples of turbo Zetecs with the stock ECU, and I don't see how this would work. I'm new to this, so here's my understanding (please tell me if I'm wrong).

As we raise the boost level, the MAF will see more and more air moving past it. That's fine up to a point, but when the MAF gets pegged at its maximum reading, the ECU will not recognize the extra airflow and the mixture will lean out. So we install a recalibrated MAF and now we can flow a lot more air without pegging the meter. Now the fuel injectors can't keep up, so we replace them with larger ones (and calibrate the MAF to the new injectors). Now we've got more airflow potential and more fuel flow potential, and everything's hunky-dory.

BUT the stock ECU will try to use the stoichiometric air/fuel ratio, which will cause detonation in a turbocharged engine, right? We need to make the mixture richer, but changing the calibration of the MAF won't help, because the ECU will simply reduce the fuel flow by pulsing the injectors for a shorter duration.