Difference between Xcal2 and Proracer - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2005, 03:08 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
FocusMang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 11488
Location: New Mexico
What I Drive: 2000 Black, Built, Turbo ZX3

Posts: 203
FF Reputation: 1 FocusMang Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Difference between Xcal2 and Proracer

It seems like the xcal2 is fairly simple to use to tune a FI car, but what are the advantages/disadvantages over the proracer. My focus will be in need of a tune with its new motor and turbo setup soon.


__________________
-Garrick-
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...nginefocus.bmp
If the mods in your sig didnt get you 300hp you just wasted your time

New Mexicos First ZX3 to burn a SRT-4 on the night of 3/16/05
FocusMang is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-18-2005, 05:22 PM   #2
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,798
Points 52,960, Level 100
Points: 52,960, Level: 100 Points: 52,960, Level: 100 Points: 52,960, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 46%
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
There basicly both the same thing , Let me know when your ready i have about the best deal on them

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2005, 06:28 PM   #3
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Fan#: 12900
Location: Rockville, MD
What I Drive: 2003 SVT Focus

Posts: 1,643
FF Reputation: 1 crazymechanic Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
proracer consists of a flasher unit, a raptor datalogger, and the software for your computer with which to tune the car. the xcal2 is a flasher and a datalogger in one unit. the raptor is capable of accepting 5 (I think) analog inputs such as wideband O2 and others, whereas the xcal can only accept 2 analog inputs. the xcal2 also does not come with any software, so after datalogging, you would need to send the data file to your tuner and have them adjust the tune and email it back to you. the proracer lets you tune it yourself, so you don't have to wait for your tuner to email you
crazymechanic is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2005, 06:47 PM   #4
Focus Enthusiast
 
FocusMang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 11488
Location: New Mexico
What I Drive: 2000 Black, Built, Turbo ZX3

Posts: 203
FF Reputation: 1 FocusMang Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
I was under the impression you can make adjustments with the xcal2
__________________
-Garrick-
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...nginefocus.bmp
If the mods in your sig didnt get you 300hp you just wasted your time

New Mexicos First ZX3 to burn a SRT-4 on the night of 3/16/05
FocusMang is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2005, 06:52 PM   #5
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Fan#: 12900
Location: Rockville, MD
What I Drive: 2003 SVT Focus

Posts: 1,643
FF Reputation: 1 crazymechanic Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I think there's a few adjustments you can make, like speedometer correction for different size tires, shift points (for automatics), and a few others. for the most part, the xcal2 is the SCT version of Diablo's Predator unit.
crazymechanic is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2005, 06:58 PM   #6
Focus Enthusiast
 
FocusMang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 11488
Location: New Mexico
What I Drive: 2000 Black, Built, Turbo ZX3

Posts: 203
FF Reputation: 1 FocusMang Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
it shows on the website that adjustments can be made, looks like tom even said its the same thing as the pro racer
__________________
-Garrick-
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...nginefocus.bmp
If the mods in your sig didnt get you 300hp you just wasted your time

New Mexicos First ZX3 to burn a SRT-4 on the night of 3/16/05
FocusMang is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2005, 07:40 PM   #7
Focus Addict
 
Knuckles899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 3229
Location: Rocklin, California
What I Drive: 2002 1/2 zx3

Posts: 541
FF Reputation: 1 Knuckles899 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Well i have a xcal 2 and im not assuming anything yet but it quite possibly could of messed my computer up. I tried loading my Aggressive NA program like i have at least 5 to 7 times before and it did load up. About 5 minutes later i tried to load a different program and when i pressed the the button to do so a error message popped up reading !ERROR WRONG ECM!
I did nothing out of the ordinary to cauze this, like i said its been loaded up at least 5 to 7 times before with absolutly no problems. So now the Xcal 2 wont let me do anything to load up a new program. The car seems to run fine so far but it wont let me do anything with the xcal 2 so maybe the files got corrupted some how or the computer in the car could of some how froze or something like that. The xcal 2 wont even let me return the car to the stock program which scares me. Ive tried disconnecting the battery and this all still happens. And as of right now you cant do any changes your self to the xcal 2 SCT is suppose to release a update to let you make small changes but thats gonna be around 3 weeks or so, thats what sct said when i called. Im gonna try downloading some firmware updates tonight and see what happens but im pretty sure they are already downloaded. I just thought id share my experience so far with it.

thanks

Brandon.
__________________
MODS: FR head milled .040, Ported 2000 intake manifold, FR stage 2 cams, Nitrous Express wet kit with bottle heater, Esslinger cam gears, SCT Xcalibrator 2 self flasher( Mcnews automotive ), Obx 4-2-1 header, Bosal flex pipe, Borla 2.5 catback w/ Vibrant resonator, Steeda high flow fuel rail, VF engineering motor mounts, Screemin demon coil pack w/ wires, Ported throttle body, Custom short tube intake, Custom Grounding kit, Short throw shifter, Eibach sportline springs and struts, falken ziex tires, Rear seat deleted. = one bad motha fucca
Knuckles899 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2005, 08:03 PM   #8
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,798
Points 52,960, Level 100
Points: 52,960, Level: 100 Points: 52,960, Level: 100 Points: 52,960, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 46%
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
The Xcal2 is what comes in with the ProRacer ,The raptor is no more , you can still get the ProRacer in chip form (forZX3) but you still get the Xcal2 as the scan tool

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2005, 09:28 PM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
FocusMang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 11488
Location: New Mexico
What I Drive: 2000 Black, Built, Turbo ZX3

Posts: 203
FF Reputation: 1 FocusMang Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
tom, thats kinda confusing.

so the xcal2 is the system the proracer tunes with? But if I bought the proracer I get a chip instead of a flash?
__________________
-Garrick-
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...nginefocus.bmp
If the mods in your sig didnt get you 300hp you just wasted your time

New Mexicos First ZX3 to burn a SRT-4 on the night of 3/16/05
FocusMang is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2005, 06:22 AM   #10
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Fan#: 12900
Location: Rockville, MD
What I Drive: 2003 SVT Focus

Posts: 1,643
FF Reputation: 1 crazymechanic Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally posted by 1turbofocus
The Xcal2 is what comes in with the ProRacer ,The raptor is no more , you can still get the ProRacer in chip form (forZX3) but you still get the Xcal2 as the scan tool

Tom
good to know. I know the proracer used to be the xcal1 with the raptor and software. I was wondering if they had gone to the xcal2 with software. did this change bring down the price at all?
crazymechanic is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1