Wideband O2 Sensor - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2004, 12:36 AM   #1
Focus Enthusiast

Fan#: 5452
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3

FF Reputation: 1 ZX3TUNR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Wideband???

The term wideband sensor came up in a conversation and now im going to ask on here. What is the plus's and when would you want to go wideband. What does it help with. Im still learning and hoping some one can clue me in on this part.

Last edited by ZX3TUNR; 10-25-2004 at 08:31 AM.
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-25-2004, 09:27 PM   #2
AKA SMDYSMF-X-2

Fan#: 13131
What I Drive: 2000 Focus ZTS

FF Reputation: 1 Arauthator Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
"Heated thimble-type O2 sensors have been the predominant O2 sensors used in the United States for several years, despite the fact that some vehicles still used unheated sensors into the late 1990s," Akamatsu said. "Continually advancing emissions requirements, such as OBD II, have mandated more advanced, new oxygen sensors that are more sensitive and more durable. The heated planar sensor, introduced by Bosch in 1998, provides greater sophistication in exhaust gas measurement and fast 'light-off' of about 10 to 12 seconds."

Heated planar sensors, which consist of a flat strip of laminated ceramic instead of the more familiar thimble, reduce cold-start emissions and are currently being installed on nearly 50% of new vehicles.