no start diagnosis - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2008, 02:39 PM   #1
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: STi & Miata

Posts: 4,817
Points 21,384, Level 92
Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92
Level Up 4% Completed
Level up: 4% Level up: 4% Level up: 4%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
no start diagnosis

ok for about 2 months my car not started like it is suppose to.

it all started with the starter going out. no big deal i just replaced it. that the ground wire for it was melted and the solenoid was just clicking. so i replaced the ground wire. after that is when the problem really started. it will turn over just fine now, it will just turn over all day and wont start.... most of the time.

you can crank it and it wont start, crank it and it wont start, then randomly it will just fire right up and run all day long and perfectly. then you can shut it off and it wont start.

so i started with the obvious. i checked the ignition, great spark, all the time. i checked fuel pressure, fuel pressure is perfect. i checked the injectors and they have power but as far as i can tell (with out noid lights) the injectors were not firing (not grounding).

so i have been having a problem with the ecu not grounding the o2 sensor for about 3 years. i didnt really care about that b/c i dont need one. but since the ecu controls the ground for the injectors i guess that could be the same kind of problem.... but there are other things that can cause the ecu not to all injector ground. and i want to rule them out before i deal with having for reflash a new one to match my car and then dealing with sct.

first off is the pats system. will it just do starter cut off or can it just cut off the injectors.

the oil pressure sending unit. the oil light on the dash will flash when cranking. is this normal or does the ecu think it doesnt have oil pressure (it does i have a mechanical gauge). will no oil pressure just shut down injectors?

a short somewhere. we have pulled and shook every wire on that car and it doesnt change a damn thing.

the ecu itself...


and other suggestions, help, or some info that i dont know.

thanks for the help.
tim


__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Zetec and Duratec Turbo kits, engine building

turboturtlegarage.com
facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2008, 03:26 PM   #2
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,951
Points 53,456, Level 100
Points: 53,456, Level: 100 Points: 53,456, Level: 100 Points: 53,456, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 43%
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
What all have you changes sence you were here last , how have you set things up for the return system

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2008, 03:43 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 33743
Location: Janesville, WI
What I Drive: 2002 flat black zx3

Posts: 441
FF Reputation: 2 pocus02x3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
you know you can take the car to ford and they have a machine that they car hook up to your computer and it will tell you exactly which wires are not grounded out and are shorting out and all that crap? I think it's only like 150 or something like that. That would be a place to start. Sounds like you have a wire that is shorting out or grounding out just enough to cause your problem.
__________________
358whp and 335tq on 93oct.
pocus02x3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2008, 04:38 PM   #4
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: STi & Miata

Posts: 4,817
Points 21,384, Level 92
Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92
Level Up 4% Completed
Level up: 4% Level up: 4% Level up: 4%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
What all have you changes sence you were here last , how have you set things up for the return system

Tom
i havent changed any thing tom. i played with the tune a little, and ran it about a week on mine. but the first thing i did when this all started was put yours back on it. and it didnt change any thing.

the return system is set up just like it was when i was at your shop except i have the cell now. it has ran perfect like it is since spring break.

i am not taking my car to cavenaugh to have them hook it up, unless it is just for pats. i actually just quit working for them last month. i was one of their techs. i will keep my 150 and find the short if it comes to it being a short.
__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Zetec and Duratec Turbo kits, engine building

turboturtlegarage.com
facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2008, 07:30 PM   #5
I AM DA FOCI FANATIC
 
focusguy87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Fan#: 40962
Location: Decatur, IL & STL, MO, United States
What I Drive: 03 Red EvO & 03 TURBO SVT

Posts: 3,715
Points 9,232, Level 64
Points: 9,232, Level: 64 Points: 9,232, Level: 64 Points: 9,232, Level: 64
Level Up 61% Completed
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 9 focusguy87 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
The few times it did start did the oil light flash then?

I am sure you checked all three engine grounds and made sure they are clean and no corrsion?
__________________
FOR SALE,
2003 Turbo SVT ZX5 318WHP (SOLD)
2003 Evolution 8 320AWHP
focusguy87 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2008, 10:14 PM   #6
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: STi & Miata

Posts: 4,817
Points 21,384, Level 92
Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92
Level Up 4% Completed
Level up: 4% Level up: 4% Level up: 4%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
no oil light when it starts

all grounds are fine.
__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Zetec and Duratec Turbo kits, engine building

turboturtlegarage.com
facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2008, 11:11 AM   #7
LETS TURN DIRT!!!!
 
03OrangeSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19169
Location: Piketon, OH
What I Drive: MINI Cooper S TURBO

Posts: 11,906
FF Reputation: 152 03OrangeSVT Excellent Standing Member 03OrangeSVT Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Well the ECU will definitly shut down the motor if it thinks you dont have oil pressure.... have you checked the TPS??

A faulty TPS can cause it to not start then randomly start.
__________________
[B]1951 McCormick FARMALL M
2007 MINI Cooper S Turbo... new project car
1998 Chevy 3500 Ext cab, long bed, 4x4, duelly, turbo diesel
2004 Harley V-Rod.... sex on wheels
2011 Harley Electra Glide Ultra Limited
[/b]
03OrangeSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2008, 02:09 PM   #8
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: STi & Miata

Posts: 4,817
Points 21,384, Level 92
Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92
Level Up 4% Completed
Level up: 4% Level up: 4% Level up: 4%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
no i have not checked the tps. i didnt know it would cause a no start. i will check it though. thanks john.
__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Zetec and Duratec Turbo kits, engine building

turboturtlegarage.com
facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2008, 02:26 PM   #9
LETS TURN DIRT!!!!
 
03OrangeSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19169
Location: Piketon, OH
What I Drive: MINI Cooper S TURBO

Posts: 11,906
FF Reputation: 152 03OrangeSVT Excellent Standing Member 03OrangeSVT Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
If your TPS is shorting out (reading higher voltage during startup.. i dont recall how much is needed).. but if your TPS voltage is above Xvolts the ECU thinks that you have flooded the engine and you have the throttle open trying to clear it out... so the ECU will not allow fuel to go into the engine during this time.
__________________
[B]1951 McCormick FARMALL M
2007 MINI Cooper S Turbo... new project car
1998 Chevy 3500 Ext cab, long bed, 4x4, duelly, turbo diesel
2004 Harley V-Rod.... sex on wheels
2011 Harley Electra Glide Ultra Limited
[/b]
03OrangeSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2008, 03:26 PM   #10
Fins Up!
 
Turbo Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32772
Location: Calera, AL
What I Drive: STi & Miata

Posts: 4,817
Points 21,384, Level 92
Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92 Points: 21,384, Level: 92
Level Up 4% Completed
Level up: 4% Level up: 4% Level up: 4%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 54 Turbo Turtle Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (25)
clear flood mode. never thought about that.

closest i have come to checking it is cranking it while stomping repetitively on the pedal for about 2 minutes lol
__________________
Turbo Turtle Garage
Zetec and Duratec Turbo kits, engine building

turboturtlegarage.com
facebook.com/TurboTurtleGarage
TurboTurtleFab@gmail.com

Last edited by Turbo Turtle; 11-24-2008 at 10:07 PM.
Turbo Turtle is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"How-to" for start button b16sir1991 MK2 Focus 109 04-21-2014 07:14 PM
Need help with Remote Start Alarm install briandg510 Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 15 11-24-2012 04:34 AM
High Idle at Start! Plz Help!! ponyhustler General Technical Chat 21 08-18-2009 04:49 PM
02 ZTS wont start after accident DerekNJND General Technical Chat 22 02-21-2007 11:12 PM
Parked 3weeks & wont start songokou_1 General Technical Chat 9 01-05-2007 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1