Tune problem help - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2010, 11:39 PM   #1
Focus Addict
 
dirtbiker348's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56380
Location: West Milford, NJ
What I Drive: 02 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 764
Points 2,674, Level 31
Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 dirtbiker348 Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Tune problem help

I plugged the sct in and installed the software for the sct first, before installing live link; i didnt read the help until after i did it. so now i cant go through the hardware wizard again. Now whenever i connect it, the comp makes the noise like usual, but it doesnt show up in "my computer". how do i fix this


dirtbiker348 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2010, 10:17 AM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
KonFuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 71810
Location: TEXAS, TX
What I Drive: 2003,silver, zx3

Posts: 201
FF Reputation: 1 KonFuse Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
try reinstall? i have no experience with the sct, yet.
__________________
"We took it thru some mud, the engine filled up with water and threw a rod into the block. A guy with a lifted Blazer tried to run over it and got a flat tire on the radiator." axistang
KonFuse is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2010, 11:49 AM   #3
Focus Addict
 
dirtbiker348's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56380
Location: West Milford, NJ
What I Drive: 02 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 764
Points 2,674, Level 31
Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 dirtbiker348 Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Well i found these instructions,
If a Tuner was plugged in before the software was installed it may be necessary to install the drivers manually. A sign of this is if you see Errors coming up when trying to use the functions of the X3/Livewire Updater. “Failed to Write Data” "Connect Livewire" or others.

To Check this out, have the tuner plugged in.

Click on Start
Then Right Click on My Computer
Then Hit Properties

Windows Vista or Windows 7 computers - you can go ahead and click on Device Manager on the top left corner of the active window.

Windows XP - When the System Properties Window Opens Up Click on the Hardware Tab

Then Click on the Device Manager Button.

Within the Device Manager list, we are looking for an item with a Yellow Exclamation Mark. It may say LIVEWIRE, UPGRADE LOADER, UNKNOWN DEVICE, X3P Device or others.

Right click on the item that has the Yellow Mark on it, and then click on Update Driver.

This will open the FOUND NEW HARDWARE WIZARD. Let it search automatically and install the drivers.

NOTE: This will only work if the software has been installed.
but i cant find the program under device manager.

It says to look for the yellow exclamation mark but there isn't one and i cant find any of the names they listed. can anyone help with this, their tech support is only open during the week.
dirtbiker348 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2010, 03:45 PM   #4
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Our devices do not show up under "my computer." They are not supposed to; it's not a hard drive. In device manager do you see a category for "jungo" If so, expand that and there should be 2 items "windriver" and "x3pdevice." If you see those your drivers are fine (unless you have an older device.)

What exactly are you trying to do? Datalog? Load custom tunes to your device?
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2010, 03:06 AM   #5
Focus Addict
 
dirtbiker348's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56380
Location: West Milford, NJ
What I Drive: 02 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 764
Points 2,674, Level 31
Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 dirtbiker348 Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
i have an sct 2. i cant even find the flasher on the computer when i plug it in to access it. it says theres supposed to be an icon on the desktop but i dont have one because i did the hardware wizard before downloading the software. so i have to open it manually but i cant find it, and i cannot find jungo in device manager.
dirtbiker348 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2010, 09:47 AM   #6
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtbiker348 View Post
i have an sct 2. i cant even find the flasher on the computer when i plug it in to access it. it says theres supposed to be an icon on the desktop but i dont have one because i did the hardware wizard before downloading the software. so i have to open it manually but i cant find it, and i cannot find jungo in device manager.
You have an xcal 2 which doesn't apply to what I wrote above. You cannot access the flasher directly if that is what you are trying to do. There will not be an icon on the desktop other than for whatever sct program you have installed. You will use our software programs to access the device. The only thing you will see will be the drivers in device manager.

You still haven't answered what you are trying to do.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2010, 11:52 AM   #7
Focus Addict
 
dirtbiker348's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56380
Location: West Milford, NJ
What I Drive: 02 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 764
Points 2,674, Level 31
Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 dirtbiker348 Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
i'm trying to upload toms tune, so how exactly would i do this because i still cant find it under device manager. thanks a lot for the help!
dirtbiker348 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2010, 06:44 AM   #8
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Since you have an X2, the only program you need to load custom tune files to it is liveload:

http://www.sctflash.com/software/LiveLoadFord.exe

This will install the drivers for the X2 as well. I would first recommend removing any other SCT programs then install just liveload from above. Once it is installed, plug your X2 in and let it install the drivers. Once that is done you should be able to open the program and install your tunes to the device.

If you get that working and you would like to use livelink for datalogging, install this after liveload.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2010, 01:54 PM   #9
Focus Addict
 
dirtbiker348's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56380
Location: West Milford, NJ
What I Drive: 02 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 764
Points 2,674, Level 31
Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31 Points: 2,674, Level: 31
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 0 dirtbiker348 Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
alright this worked but when i go to browse for the tune it shows it not being there. i open my svt tune folder, where my custom tune is in, and it says no items match your search, but the file is in there when i look when i'm not browsing for it. could it be because it is a CEF file and not a .ll3, all that shows up in the files of type after browsing is the live load file. What am i doing wrong?
dirtbiker348 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2010, 02:53 PM   #10
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtbiker348 View Post
alright this worked but when i go to browse for the tune it shows it not being there. i open my svt tune folder, where my custom tune is in, and it says no items match your search, but the file is in there when i look when i'm not browsing for it. could it be because it is a CEF file and not a .ll3, all that shows up in the files of type after browsing is the live load file. What am i doing wrong?
No, the latest version of liveload works fine with cef files. There should be a dropdown for the file type.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1