SCT Live Link Headache and Fire Wire Fabrication Info - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2010, 06:59 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
mdgonzo101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Fan#: 2742
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2002 black zx3

Posts: 325
Points 1,531, Level 22
Points: 1,531, Level: 22 Points: 1,531, Level: 22 Points: 1,531, Level: 22
Level Up 31% Completed
Level up: 31% Level up: 31% Level up: 31%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 13 mdgonzo101 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
SCT Live Link Headache and Fire Wire Fabrication Info

Tom and I were trying for a couple of days to get the Live Link software on my laptop to work properly. I'm sure that even Tom wanted to pull his hair out too. Here were the underlying issues:

First, I'm using an Asus G2K laptop that has a full retail copy of Windows 7 - 64 bit on it. The Live Link software is version 6.1 and the Updater software is version 2.5. Tuner is XCAL 3. The anti-virus software i use is from Trend Micro. Vehicle is 2002 ZX3 with ECU code LFQ1.

Tom set-up the datalog configuration log with all the parameters needed for datalogging. With the tuner plugged into the car and the tuner connected to the laptop and with the key on, the software would ask to connect to the car's ECU for verification after Tom selected the config file for upload. After clicking NO, the software would say "Loading Configuration File" in the lower left hand corner of the screen for a period of about 3 minutes or so before it would say that it was ready. Sometimes it would simply close itself out. Attempts to close the program to start it over again would ask if i wanted to save the datalog. Selecting NO would do nothing. The program would not respond. Several Ctrl-Alt-Del task manager halts also took place. This went on for a while.

We finally got to the point today where we had to call SCT. He got them on the line before i did and i don't know what transpired there but it did nothing to fix the problems. Tom sent me a new tune to upload that had some changes. I set my car back to stock tune and connected the tuner to my laptop and tried to upload the new tune but the Updater Software kept telling me that it Failed to Read Data. Clicking on that OK button 8 times or so later it said that i had an INVALID SCT DEVICE. I uninstalled the updater software and downloaded a new copy.

Finally got SCT on the phone and explained the situation to the guy and he tipped into my computer. I was just wrapping up the new installation of the Updater Software when he got on the phone with me. These are the changes he made to my laptop. He changed my THEME to CLASSIC. He also changed my DPI or Resolution to SMALLEST. After plugging and unplugging the tuner into the laptop and watching the drivers come back (X3P something) he opened the updater software and selected the Device Info button and it finally displayed the X3 info. Ability to load a new tune was restored!

Live Link software has been working fine since. The software displays the graphs and after a few seconds it says Ready at the lower left hand corner of the software screen. Once there, the datalogging process works fine.

On another note...

To anyone that uses this link:

How-To Datalog Wideband On XCAL 3

to craft the firewire cable on the AEM Wideband UEGO must know this info as this is the link that i used to make mine.....the firewire cable i bought was clear plastic shielding but the pinout was exactly the same as his. I used the ORANGE wire as the Analog signal wire just like he did, although i DID NOT ground the BLUE wire from the AEM Wideband AFR. It is a different kind of output cable so all i did was loop and tape it with electrical tape so that it could not make contact with anything.

I too had to Configure this as ANALOG INPUT 2 in order to get readings. Someone else had to configure it as AIN2 also if you take the time to read the fabrication thread.

I hope this helps folks.


__________________
POWERWORKS SUPERCHARGED 02 ZX3

Last edited by mdgonzo101; 02-27-2010 at 08:09 PM. Reason: Edit out some misinformation
mdgonzo101 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2010, 09:58 PM   #2
Focus Addict
 
Juantron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56983
Location: Advance, NC
What I Drive: '03 SVT-5

Posts: 925
FF Reputation: 3 Juantron Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
In my opinion, this is a lot easier to follow(at least for those using an AEM meter):

AEM wideband to xcal3 question

It took me all of about 15 minutes to hook everything up and it works very well.
Juantron is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2010, 02:26 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
FordManSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 44253
Location: Harrisburg, PA, PA
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3 SVT Euro in Comp Orange

Posts: 212
FF Reputation: 1 FordManSVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
There is a issue with livelink and updater running on windows 7. I had it working for a few weeks then it just stopped connecting to my programmer. SCT told me that it should be fixed the beginning of this week.
FordManSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2010, 02:30 PM   #4
Focus Addict
 
FiFoci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59433
Location: North East, Maryland, MD
What I Drive: 11' Mustang GT 5.0,01' Twilight Zx3

Posts: 975
Points 7,343, Level 56
Points: 7,343, Level: 56 Points: 7,343, Level: 56 Points: 7,343, Level: 56
Level Up 97% Completed
Level up: 97% Level up: 97% Level up: 97%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 6 FiFoci Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
i also use windows 7
i do mine this way.
1. hook u xcal to car
2. plug in my firewire to the xcal
3. plug xcal to pc
4. turn on key
5. open livelink
6. open config file
7. then it askes to connect to the ecu i click yes and im good to go.
__________________
'01 Turbo ZX3: 364hp, 317tq <SOLD
'11 Coyote: 440hp, 385tq <SOLD
'96 F-350 PowerStroke
'14 Turbo Coyote GHIT:650hp, 615tq
'03 Svt Zx3 soon to be turbo.
FiFoci is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2010, 08:08 PM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
mdgonzo101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Fan#: 2742
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2002 black zx3

Posts: 325
Points 1,531, Level 22
Points: 1,531, Level: 22 Points: 1,531, Level: 22 Points: 1,531, Level: 22
Level Up 31% Completed
Level up: 31% Level up: 31% Level up: 31%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 13 mdgonzo101 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
^^Been working just like yours since SCT went into my computer and changed the settings.^^
__________________
POWERWORKS SUPERCHARGED 02 ZX3
mdgonzo101 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2010, 04:30 AM   #6
Focus Addict
 
Juantron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56983
Location: Advance, NC
What I Drive: '03 SVT-5

Posts: 925
FF Reputation: 3 Juantron Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
Yeah, I think anyone with Windows 7 is going to have to get SCT on the phone and do a remote connection to your computer to get everything squared away.
Juantron is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2010, 04:42 AM   #7
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 27,166
Points 145,385, Level 100
Points: 145,385, Level: 100 Points: 145,385, Level: 100 Points: 145,385, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 32%
Activity: 32% Activity: 32% Activity: 32%
FF Reputation: 50 sleepyboy Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Cool beans now I know who to call for local help when I go data logging lol
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2010, 10:31 AM   #8
Focus Enthusiast
 
FordManSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 44253
Location: Harrisburg, PA, PA
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3 SVT Euro in Comp Orange

Posts: 212
FF Reputation: 1 FordManSVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
I got SCT on the phone just the end of the last week. Went into my laptop and changed some things, uninstalled updater and the drivers, and reinstalled them. Still wouldnt connect to the programmer. He told me its a issue that acts up after a few weeks of using the software. Supposed to be fixed early this week. I cant even load a file onto my x3.
FordManSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2010, 01:08 AM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
mdgonzo101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Fan#: 2742
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2002 black zx3

Posts: 325
Points 1,531, Level 22
Points: 1,531, Level: 22 Points: 1,531, Level: 22 Points: 1,531, Level: 22
Level Up 31% Completed
Level up: 31% Level up: 31% Level up: 31%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 13 mdgonzo101 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
One thing that i noticed about the software is that it will not let you load a tune with the Updater if the Live Link is on and still actively datalogging. As soon as i clicked on Stop Datalogging and went back to the Updater, it worked properly.

Guess i forgot to stop logging before i shut the car off.
__________________
POWERWORKS SUPERCHARGED 02 ZX3
mdgonzo101 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1