Do you need to update the frimware before flahsing? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2010, 01:05 AM   #1
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 27,179
Points 145,516, Level 100
Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 39%
Activity: 39% Activity: 39% Activity: 39%
FF Reputation: 50 sleepyboy Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Do you need to update the frimware before flahsing?

I just got my tuner in but I have a question. I'm reading the instructions and it talks about plugging into a computer and updating which is fine with me since I plan on data logging in my laptop. I throw the cd in there and plug in the tuner. It fails to install the drivers? Can I just plug it into my car and throw the tune on there or do I need to update the firmware before doing that? I'm searching through SCT's website but would like to know what you think. I was able to download X3LUpdater but it says it's not a valid Win32 app? So i can't run it.


__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2010, 02:04 AM   #2
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 27,179
Points 145,516, Level 100
Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 39%
Activity: 39% Activity: 39% Activity: 39%
FF Reputation: 50 sleepyboy Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Ok found the updater on there website. It's newer than the one that mine came with. So I got that all taken care of when I come across something about using older out of date computers can make the X3 unusable? Here is a link to the page. My computer is an oldey and its running a celeron but, its a 1.9-2.0ghz and the link says anything 1800mhz and lower. Does this mean i can't use my laptop? I don't want to brick this thing before I even get the tune loaded onto the car. Right now I'm waiting to fill my car up with some premium before trying to flash. I was hoping to data log using this laptop. It would totally suck if I couldn't. I don't want to buy another laptop if I don't have to.

http://www.sctflash.com/PDF/CheckCPU.pdf
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2010, 02:11 AM   #3
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 27,179
Points 145,516, Level 100
Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 39%
Activity: 39% Activity: 39% Activity: 39%
FF Reputation: 50 sleepyboy Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Ok after some looking I found I have FW version 1.2.120.0 Here is a link to the page that has the FW :1.2.118-3000 which is older than what I have right? I guess I should probably wait for Tom of somebody with some more knowledge before continuing. I'm almost certain now that it is just ready to go and I am being too cautious. But I'd rather play it safe when it comes to flashing my ECU and stuff.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2010, 04:36 AM   #4
Focus Enthusiast
 
awnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Fan#: 12680
Location: ABQ NM, United States
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 with Zetec

Posts: 274
FF Reputation: 6 awnuts Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I had the same issue the car is old so the program had to be ran on a XP computer to work.If your laptop is vista or win7 you might have a prob there too.
__________________
Magnaflow cat back, EBC sport rotors with red pads,Focus sport stress bar,Yokohama EVS tires,volant cai,screamin demon coil and wires. Red powder coated calipers,Focal 5 spoke tuner wheels deep chrome edge.
awnuts is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2010, 04:41 AM   #5
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 27,179
Points 145,516, Level 100
Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 39%
Activity: 39% Activity: 39% Activity: 39%
FF Reputation: 50 sleepyboy Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
I have a Dell Inspirion 1100 with a Celeron 2.0-1.9Ghz and 1GB of RAM. It's right above the specs but because it's a celeron it could not work? I don't understand if it will mess it up or not. I don't want to brick my X3
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2010, 06:50 AM   #6
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
No you do not need to update your firmware.

My question though is how did your device come with that version of firmware? I handle most of the ford firmware distribution here at SCT. Who was this device purchased from?
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2010, 07:00 AM   #7
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 27,179
Points 145,516, Level 100
Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 39%
Activity: 39% Activity: 39% Activity: 39%
FF Reputation: 50 sleepyboy Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
FSWerks. Yeah after doing a little more reading and such it will work just fine. Now here is my question now is. Can I use my laptop to data log with the X3? I can understand a computer not being fast enough to run a program but I don't understand how it can be out of date? I have the same version of xp with the same programs (minus the ones that can't run on a single core).
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2010, 07:11 AM   #8
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepyboy View Post
FSWerks. Yeah after doing a little more reading and such it will work just fine. Now here is my question now is. Can I use my laptop to data log with the X3? I can understand a computer not being fast enough to run a program but I don't understand how it can be out of date? I have the same version of xp with the same programs (minus the ones that can't run on a single core).
Your computer should be ok. The issue with livelink is it takes a lot of system resources to run (especially the latest version.) I would say having a celeron processor is not ideal but as long as you are not running anything else with livelink it should be ok.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2010, 08:33 AM   #9
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 27,179
Points 145,516, Level 100
Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100 Points: 145,516, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 39%
Activity: 39% Activity: 39% Activity: 39%
FF Reputation: 50 sleepyboy Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Ok thanks thats all I really needed to know. I never run more than one thing at a time on it lol. She does great and I only use it at work mainly to post one here lol or thats what it seems like most of the time
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1