Data log wideband - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2009, 01:48 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
FordManSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 44253
Location: Harrisburg, PA, PA
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3 SVT Euro in Comp Orange

Posts: 212
FF Reputation: 1 FordManSVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Data log wideband

I am remote tuning. I need to get my wideband 02 datalogged. I have the Autometer guage which has a dataloger signal output and ground wires. I just got a firewire cable and was going to splice into the signal from the sensor. I would rather just use the signal output fromt he gauge. Has anyone done this with the autometer?

Matt


FordManSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2009, 02:24 PM   #2
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: '04 SVT, '10 Escape, '04 F350 V10

Posts: 2,422
Points 5,550, Level 47
Points: 5,550, Level: 47 Points: 5,550, Level: 47 Points: 5,550, Level: 47
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
a quick search brought up these two write ups on datalogging a wideband with the XCAL3

How-To Datalog Wideband On XCAL 3

write up for AEM wideband for datalogging
__________________
2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
2004 F350 6.8L V10
'86 XR4Ti 2.3L Turbo
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 03:47 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
FordManSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 44253
Location: Harrisburg, PA, PA
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3 SVT Euro in Comp Orange

Posts: 212
FF Reputation: 1 FordManSVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
I have read the first one, but that is not specific to the automete wideband. It would be different because theautometer has a analog output and ground from the gauge. I just wanted to know if anyone has used them. It would seem to be different connections that the first link.
FordManSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 05:19 PM   #4
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: '04 SVT, '10 Escape, '04 F350 V10

Posts: 2,422
Points 5,550, Level 47
Points: 5,550, Level: 47 Points: 5,550, Level: 47 Points: 5,550, Level: 47
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
You would just wire the analog output from the gauge (white wire I think) to the analog 1 wire in your fire-wire cable (orange). Then connect the ground from the gauge to the cable ground (Black), analog 1 ground (blue), and analog 2 ground (Green) in the fire-wire cable; then connect that connection to a chassis ground. The analog 2 and +5V will not be used.

i would verify the colors of the wires in the firewire cable because every cable is different.

Then its just setting up your XCAL3 for the analog input and setting up your livelink software with the formula for the AEM wideband for the analog 1 input when you select your PID's.
__________________
2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
2004 F350 6.8L V10
'86 XR4Ti 2.3L Turbo
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 08:47 PM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
FordManSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 44253
Location: Harrisburg, PA, PA
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3 SVT Euro in Comp Orange

Posts: 212
FF Reputation: 1 FordManSVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
The wire colors on my wideband output are different, but ill try it in the morning. hopefully it stops snowing.
FordManSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 10:17 PM   #6
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: '04 SVT, '10 Escape, '04 F350 V10

Posts: 2,422
Points 5,550, Level 47
Points: 5,550, Level: 47 Points: 5,550, Level: 47 Points: 5,550, Level: 47
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
do you have the AEM wideband model 30-4100?

just checked the instructions and the 0-5V analog output is said to be white
http://www.aempower.com/images/produ...%2030-4100.pdf

you'll be good man; if your not sure of a wire, test it with a multimeter. And the snow finally stopped at my house. Around 20 inches in my yard; snow drifts to deal with tomorrow.
__________________
2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
2004 F350 6.8L V10
'86 XR4Ti 2.3L Turbo
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2009, 05:17 PM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
FordManSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 44253
Location: Harrisburg, PA, PA
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3 SVT Euro in Comp Orange

Posts: 212
FF Reputation: 1 FordManSVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
No i have the autometer wideband. the wire colors are different thats all. For some reason my computer wont stay on unless it is plugged in, so i cant do too much. I would have loved 20 inches of snow. sounds like its time to go wheeling with the trucks.
FordManSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2009, 10:23 PM   #8
Focus Enthusiast
 
FordManSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 44253
Location: Harrisburg, PA, PA
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3 SVT Euro in Comp Orange

Posts: 212
FF Reputation: 1 FordManSVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
OK so i got the firewire connected, got the xcal3 logging the wideband output signal. But its range is not correct. The autometer gauge output is 0-4 volt range, but i think the SCT is ranged 0-5 volts. The SCT is reading about 1.0 higher than the gauge. ex. gausge reads 12.0 SCT reads 13.0. And i dont really understand all the equassion.
FordManSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2009, 01:02 PM   #9
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: '04 SVT, '10 Escape, '04 F350 V10

Posts: 2,422
Points 5,550, Level 47
Points: 5,550, Level: 47 Points: 5,550, Level: 47 Points: 5,550, Level: 47
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
maybe this will help.......

Quote:
from the SCT forums and trying to confirm the information from a few other sources, the autometer gauge's output is 0-4v over 10 points for A/F between 10:1 to 20:1 and is linear.

Forumla= 10+(v*2.5)

ex:
at 0v, 10+(0*2.5)=10 A/F
at 1.88v. 10+(1.88*2.5)=14.7 A/F
at 4v, 10+(4*2.5)=20 A/F
try that formula; im not sure which one you are using. The AEM formula wont work the same.
__________________
2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
2004 F350 6.8L V10
'86 XR4Ti 2.3L Turbo
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2009, 02:52 PM   #10
Focus Enthusiast
 
FordManSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Fan#: 44253
Location: Harrisburg, PA, PA
What I Drive: 2003 ZX3 SVT Euro in Comp Orange

Posts: 212
FF Reputation: 1 FordManSVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
thanks a lot for the help, I will try that out tonight.
FordManSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1