Duratec ECU Codes? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2009, 09:27 AM   #1
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: 2004 Silver SVT

Posts: 2,421
Points 5,524, Level 47
Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47
Level Up 87% Completed
Level up: 87% Level up: 87% Level up: 87%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Duratec ECU Codes?

I will be getting a xcal2 with a used turbo setup that will be at my house on 8/17.

The fellow member I purchased the setup from has the identical car to mine (2005 Duratec, 2.0L, automatic transmission). His computer code is BWA6. I went to check my computer code last night and found that it is BWA4.

My question is, what is the difference in the two computers and will the base turbo tune from the BWA6 computer load onto my BWA4 computer?

Thanks for any input.


__________________
New Ride: 2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
'86 XR4Ti ; 2.3L Turbo, 15psi
1988 F150 Custom
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-15-2009, 09:52 AM   #2
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
BWA6 would just be an update to BWA4. Ford does updates like that for drivability issues or customer concerns. As long as the previous owner returned their car back to stock using the X2 you should be fine to use the same tune file provided you are using the exact maf and injectors that the tune file is set up for.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2009, 11:07 AM   #3
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: 2004 Silver SVT

Posts: 2,421
Points 5,524, Level 47
Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47
Level Up 87% Completed
Level up: 87% Level up: 87% Level up: 87%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
I will be using the same MAF, MAF tube and injectors as his setup. I'm pretty sure he returned the car to stock completely to trade it in on a bigger car.

I really just want to be able to start the car up and drive it after I get finished building the setup since this is my only car. I know not to drive it hard until its properly tuned for my setup.

Thank you Blivit for the quick response :-D
__________________
New Ride: 2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
'86 XR4Ti ; 2.3L Turbo, 15psi
1988 F150 Custom
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2009, 04:42 PM   #4
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jgrove998 View Post
I will be using the same MAF, MAF tube and injectors as his setup. I'm pretty sure he returned the car to stock completely to trade it in on a bigger car.

I really just want to be able to start the car up and drive it after I get finished building the setup since this is my only car. I know not to drive it hard until its properly tuned for my setup.

Thank you Blivit for the quick response :-D
It should be fine to start and drive but will by no means be dialed in completely. Even with everything the same part wise there will be differences with the car and you will need to get the car on a dyno and tuned.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2009, 12:18 PM   #5
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: 2004 Silver SVT

Posts: 2,421
Points 5,524, Level 47
Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47
Level Up 87% Completed
Level up: 87% Level up: 87% Level up: 87%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Exactly what I was thinking. I just want to be able to drive it after I'm done. I don't abuse my car now so I will just have to keep my driving conservative and not get into boost. I plan on taking my car to McNews Automotive in PA for tuning and it would be much better if I could drive it there instead of trailer-ing it there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blivit View Post
It should be fine to start and drive but will by no means be dialed in completely. Even with everything the same part wise there will be differences with the car and you will need to get the car on a dyno and tuned.
__________________
New Ride: 2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
'86 XR4Ti ; 2.3L Turbo, 15psi
1988 F150 Custom
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2009, 07:17 PM   #6
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: 2004 Silver SVT

Posts: 2,421
Points 5,524, Level 47
Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47
Level Up 87% Completed
Level up: 87% Level up: 87% Level up: 87%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
oh yes, another question :-D

the previous owner of this kit had a draw through set up with have of the blow of value release being put back into the inlet pipe after the MAF sensor but before the turbo inlet.

I want to run a blow through set up. If I go ahead and run a blow through set up will the draw through tune as a temporary tune until I get it tuned right or should I just go ahead and set up a draw through set up to work with the tune?
__________________
New Ride: 2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
'86 XR4Ti ; 2.3L Turbo, 15psi
1988 F150 Custom
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2009, 06:47 AM   #7
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jgrove998 View Post
oh yes, another question :-D

the previous owner of this kit had a draw through set up with have of the blow of value release being put back into the inlet pipe after the MAF sensor but before the turbo inlet.

I want to run a blow through set up. If I go ahead and run a blow through set up will the draw through tune as a temporary tune until I get it tuned right or should I just go ahead and set up a draw through set up to work with the tune?
Switching from draw through to blow through is not a good idea if you are trying to run the same tune. Chances are the car will not run and if it does it will not run very well at all. If you want to drive it you are going to have to keep it draw through.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2009, 04:19 PM   #8
Focus Fanatic
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: 2004 Silver SVT

Posts: 2,421
Points 5,524, Level 47
Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47 Points: 5,524, Level: 47
Level Up 87% Completed
Level up: 87% Level up: 87% Level up: 87%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
You are the man blivit! Thank you for all your help!

I just got all my parts and the SCT powers on and seems like it will have no problem loading the tune on my car.

I will keep it draw through for now. When I get it tuned right I'll switch it!

Thank you!
__________________
New Ride: 2004 SVT
'10 Ford Escape 3.0 V6
'86 XR4Ti ; 2.3L Turbo, 15psi
1988 F150 Custom
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duratec Turbocharger Kit Information streetracer General Forced Induction 59 02-13-2010 10:36 PM
For Sale: Complete SVT JRSC with BBK and tuned ECU! GreggPDX BST Archive 51 07-24-2009 05:49 PM
07 duratec 2.0l - > 3.0l duratec joshfink Engine & Transmission Swap 3 06-16-2009 02:59 AM
ECU and SCT question error54 Focus Tuning Chat 6 04-29-2009 07:10 AM
For Sale - SCT Excalibrator 2 $330 with tune for 2.3L Duratec Engine - ECU Code DKG1 autocrossman BST Archive 0 08-05-2006 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1