SCT Xcal 1st generation?? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2009, 09:17 PM   #1
le kittens meow
 
aheroicrevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57964
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 92 Burnt Orange Toyota Supra

Posts: 1,747
Points 8,890, Level 63
Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63
Level Up 47% Completed
Level up: 47% Level up: 47% Level up: 47%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 aheroicrevolt Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
SCT Xcal 1st generation??

SCT Xcal 1st generation, OBDII.

im wondering if i can use this to Tune my car?
I have a Tune from Tom already, long story short i dont have that xcal anymore so i need to buy a new one.
Just wondering if the 1st Generation SCT will work.


__________________
Looking for: T4 57trim or larger Turbo, Wideband Gauge with wiring and sensor, HKS VPC with 550 chip
aheroicrevolt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2009, 10:58 PM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
wildfire329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63404
Location: port huron mi
What I Drive: 2001, twilightblue, zx3

Posts: 268
Points 1,508, Level 22
Points: 1,508, Level: 22 Points: 1,508, Level: 22 Points: 1,508, Level: 22
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 wildfire329 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
i was told that if u had the old sct software u could load a tune on that. that's for a sct dealer loading it on, don't know if it's possible with the updater software, i don't think it is. that's why i'm tuning with my x3 for the $ of a X1, cause the sct dealer couldn't load a tune on it with there updated software.
wildfire329 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2009, 06:36 AM   #3
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
The X1 can be used to tune your vehicle but it may not be easy to do so.

The file format is different between the X1 and the X2 and X3. So, depending on what form your tune file is, you may or may not be able to use it. It can be converted but that then brings up another problem: The X1 uses a special programming cable. If you don't have the cable you would either have to find someone that does (even a lot of our dealers no longer have them) or buy one. Once you have the file in the right format and the right cable you can use the extreme tune software (which should still be on our website but I am honestly not sure on that right now) to load the file to the device.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2009, 10:07 AM   #4
le kittens meow
 
aheroicrevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57964
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 92 Burnt Orange Toyota Supra

Posts: 1,747
Points 8,890, Level 63
Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63
Level Up 47% Completed
Level up: 47% Level up: 47% Level up: 47%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 aheroicrevolt Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
Considering this Xcal is still in original box, unopened, cables are still zip tied in sealed plastic bags....
it should have everything i need besides the software correct?

It states that its the Xcal 1 gen, and that its un opened, and that it omes with the OBDII cable.
so how exactly do i load the tune onto it?
__________________
Looking for: T4 57trim or larger Turbo, Wideband Gauge with wiring and sensor, HKS VPC with 550 chip
aheroicrevolt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2009, 10:45 AM   #5
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aheroicrevolt View Post
Considering this Xcal is still in original box, unopened, cables are still zip tied in sealed plastic bags....
it should have everything i need besides the software correct?

It states that its the Xcal 1 gen, and that its un opened, and that it omes with the OBDII cable.
so how exactly do i load the tune onto it?
Do you have a cable that is a serial cable and has a power supply connection to where you can plug it into the wall for power? I don't think the X1 originally came with the programming cable. You have to have that cable in order to put a file onto the device.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2009, 10:53 AM   #6
le kittens meow
 
aheroicrevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57964
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 92 Burnt Orange Toyota Supra

Posts: 1,747
Points 8,890, Level 63
Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63
Level Up 47% Completed
Level up: 47% Level up: 47% Level up: 47%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 aheroicrevolt Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
So the programming cable is the one that plugs into the wall?

All i no is that this Xcal is going to come with The Xcal, and a OBDII cable. the OBDII is what connects to the car,
so i need to buy a power supply cable which is also a programming cable?

Then what do i need to connect the Xcal to my Computer to load the tune.

PS, sorry about the pm, well just talk here.
__________________
Looking for: T4 57trim or larger Turbo, Wideband Gauge with wiring and sensor, HKS VPC with 550 chip
aheroicrevolt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2009, 10:58 AM   #7
le kittens meow
 
aheroicrevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57964
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 92 Burnt Orange Toyota Supra

Posts: 1,747
Points 8,890, Level 63
Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63
Level Up 47% Completed
Level up: 47% Level up: 47% Level up: 47%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 aheroicrevolt Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
your talking i need this cable yes?
http://www.sctflash.com/shop/product...?products_id=9
connect to computer and supply power.
__________________
Looking for: T4 57trim or larger Turbo, Wideband Gauge with wiring and sensor, HKS VPC with 550 chip
aheroicrevolt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2009, 10:59 AM   #8
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aheroicrevolt View Post
So the programming cable is the one that plugs into the wall?

All i no is that this Xcal is going to come with The Xcal, and a OBDII cable. the OBDII is what connects to the car,
so i need to buy a power supply cable which is also a programming cable?

Then what do i need to connect the Xcal to my Computer to load the tune.

PS, sorry about the pm, well just talk here.
The programming cable is a serial cable that has a power supply attached to it. You will need to make sure your computer has a serial port on it (a lot of newer ones do not.) One end of that cable plugs into the X1, the other into the serial port of your PC. You then plug the supplied power supply into the wall for power. Then, you need to download and install the extreme tune software from our website and have the tune file in the proper format (xtr) to upload to the device.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2009, 10:59 AM   #9
le kittens meow
 
aheroicrevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57964
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 92 Burnt Orange Toyota Supra

Posts: 1,747
Points 8,890, Level 63
Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63
Level Up 47% Completed
Level up: 47% Level up: 47% Level up: 47%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 aheroicrevolt Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
haha were pming and Threading and saying what eachother needs to know in opposite locations.
Thanks alot, ill pick this up then after i talk to Tom!
__________________
Looking for: T4 57trim or larger Turbo, Wideband Gauge with wiring and sensor, HKS VPC with 550 chip
aheroicrevolt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2009, 01:19 PM   #10
le kittens meow
 
aheroicrevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57964
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 92 Burnt Orange Toyota Supra

Posts: 1,747
Points 8,890, Level 63
Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63 Points: 8,890, Level: 63
Level Up 47% Completed
Level up: 47% Level up: 47% Level up: 47%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 aheroicrevolt Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
Just so everyone knows.
This is what ive found out.

1. The xcal 1 can be used to tune a ford focus as long as it has the OBDII chord and plug with it because the Focus as well as mustang plugs are OBDII
2. Besides purchasing the xcal you must also purchase a cable from SCT if not included, this will hook the xcal to your computer and gives it power at the same time. You can purchase it here--->> http://www.sctflash.com/shop/product...?products_id=9
3. IMPORTANT to use the xcal1 your computer MUST have a 9 pin serial port. Most newer computers do not.
4. Your tune must be made custom and MUST be in .XTR format
5. Finally you must download this program onto the computer with the serial port in order to load and customize your Tune, Xcal, and software--->http://www.sctflash.com/software/extremetune.exe

no other program will work with the primitive xcal software.
I will update this thread if i have any problems Installing tune.
__________________
Looking for: T4 57trim or larger Turbo, Wideband Gauge with wiring and sensor, HKS VPC with 550 chip
aheroicrevolt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unlocking a SCT XCal 2 UnFocusedST DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) 31 03-27-2012 11:09 AM
For Sale: SCT Xcal 1 with Hypnotic SVT tune TenTwelve BST Archive 3 08-13-2006 12:23 PM
For Sale: Hypnotics Tuned SCT Xcal II for SVT Charged SVTF BST Archive 25 07-07-2006 05:03 PM
sct xcal 1 Unlocked *SOLD* zx34me BST Archive 7 06-30-2006 12:20 PM
Wanted: 1st Generation Steeda Focus Wheels red03svt BST Archive 1 04-26-2004 06:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1