Data Logging A/F - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2009, 01:34 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 39044
Location: Vermont, United States
What I Drive: 2000 red zx3

Posts: 179
FF Reputation: 2 redZX300 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Data Logging A/F

I am trying to data log the AF with livelink and AEM wideband. I've followed the instructions for the xcal2. I've got the ground connected, I am using the gray wire which is the low output for data logging. I did the analog conversion supplied with the livelink software for AEM.

The signal is showing up but it's low. always 10.018 to 10.038. It's not following what the wideband gauge reads.

The Blue wire says its for data logging with hyper terminal.
The gray says its for data logging from 0-5volts.
Xcal2 wants no more than 5volts.

I tested the volts coming from the two different wires.
the blue was reading between 2 and 2.8
the gray was like .2

I figured using the gray was best because of what the instructions say.

Can anyone help with this?
thanks


redZX300 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2009, 01:53 PM   #2
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Just thought I'd post a transcript of him and I chatting, to help the diagnosis

Have you data logged A/F with livelink?
me: yup
I'm having trouble with getting the signal reading right. I posted in focaljet and FF. The signal is reading 10.2. It's not reading what the gauge says
me: ok you have your 9 pin mini-DIN?
No. I just ran wires into the xcal
me: ok so your in the top, right with the GND and middle, right with the analog?
(i do the same thing, lol
yes to top. and im using analog2 which is the last port
me: ok yeah thats bottom,right
yes
me: alright have you checked the wires with a voltmeter?
outside the xcal
yes. I am using the gray wire from my AEM and it's reading .2volts
me: if it reads .2v steady then that is the problem
low?
me: it should change with afr
it was changing but never more than .1
volts were not steady
me: you positive you have a ground wire for the analog's ground?
and youre checking with the voltmeter on a ground?
yes. i tested the volts with the ground wire and, with another ground and it was the same
me: ok
something might be wrong with your gauge, how long ago did you get it and where did you buy it
from massive and last year
me: Massive might do a warranty on it, give them a call on monday
if anything they can tell you whats wrong with it
but yeah it should change 0-5V with afr
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2009, 02:29 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 39044
Location: Vermont, United States
What I Drive: 2000 red zx3

Posts: 179
FF Reputation: 2 redZX300 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
I figured it out. The wire is white not gray. Gray wire was from the boost gauge.
thanks
redZX300 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-19-2009, 12:21 PM   #4
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Fan#: 32245
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 1999 ZX2

Posts: 15
Points 124, Level 2
Points: 124, Level: 2 Points: 124, Level: 2 Points: 124, Level: 2
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 BernardZX2 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I have a similar issue with my aem w/b. Im sure I have the correct wire cause it used to work. Now there is minimal voltage change. Can the ground be bad for the signal wire but the guage still works?
Posted via FF Mobile
BernardZX2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 08:58 PM   #5
Proudly Daily Driven
 
mtadd162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Fan#: 47890
Location: Massachusetts, Afghanistan
What I Drive: 2005 Focus ST

Posts: 2,255
Points 5,921, Level 49
Points: 5,921, Level: 49 Points: 5,921, Level: 49 Points: 5,921, Level: 49
Level Up 86% Completed
Level up: 86% Level up: 86% Level up: 86%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 9 mtadd162 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
is there another write up similar to this way rather than using the mini din?
where is the analog2 plug located on the xcal, above mentions bottom right?
so is that pin 16 as ive written in my lil paint scheme?


Quote:
me: you positive you have a ground wire for the analog's ground?
And what is ment by this? isnt the analogs ground the same as the widebands ground?

thanks for the help
__________________
05 Focus ST-Sold but missed
-ST Crew #73 N/A FTW!
Feb. 09' ROTM
SSR - Silver Sedan Revolution Member #1
Cams Installed, great made my car into a VTAK
mtadd162 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 10:00 PM   #6
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
You cant use the OBD, you are confused by what I was saying. By not use the 9-pin miniDIN cable I meant that the OP was just shoving wires into the holes instead of using the actual connector.

Yes you can use the same ground for both.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 10:28 PM   #7
Proudly Daily Driven
 
mtadd162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Fan#: 47890
Location: Massachusetts, Afghanistan
What I Drive: 2005 Focus ST

Posts: 2,255
Points 5,921, Level 49
Points: 5,921, Level: 49 Points: 5,921, Level: 49 Points: 5,921, Level: 49
Level Up 86% Completed
Level up: 86% Level up: 86% Level up: 86%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 9 mtadd162 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
oh so rather than using the din connector your just physically sticking the wires in the holes on the xcal, where the din connector would go
__________________
05 Focus ST-Sold but missed
-ST Crew #73 N/A FTW!
Feb. 09' ROTM
SSR - Silver Sedan Revolution Member #1
Cams Installed, great made my car into a VTAK
mtadd162 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 10:50 PM   #8
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
I dont do that anymore, it was a temporary solution.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 10:53 AM   #9
Proudly Daily Driven
 
mtadd162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Fan#: 47890
Location: Massachusetts, Afghanistan
What I Drive: 2005 Focus ST

Posts: 2,255
Points 5,921, Level 49
Points: 5,921, Level: 49 Points: 5,921, Level: 49 Points: 5,921, Level: 49
Level Up 86% Completed
Level up: 86% Level up: 86% Level up: 86%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 9 mtadd162 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
yea i was gunna say, seems kinda sketch...but the fact that it did work
__________________
05 Focus ST-Sold but missed
-ST Crew #73 N/A FTW!
Feb. 09' ROTM
SSR - Silver Sedan Revolution Member #1
Cams Installed, great made my car into a VTAK
mtadd162 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
live data logging KRYPTO Focus-Power Tuning 1 09-11-2008 11:56 AM
Data logging A/F with Xcal2/LiveLink LAFocus General Forced Induction 5 03-15-2008 01:41 PM
predator and data logging duc450 SVT Performance (2002-2004) 1 03-30-2005 10:29 PM
Data Logging Software SceviourZX3 General Forced Induction 8 10-02-2004 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1